close
Mood board attached
Image attached

How do you want to work with your closet expert?

In-store
appointment
In-home
Consultation*
*In some markets, there is a $100 In-home consultation fee, which can be credited toward the purchase of five hours or more of organizing services ($75/hour).
Email, phone
or live chat

How do you want to work with your closet expert?

In-store
appointment
In-home
Consultation*
*In some markets, there is a $100 In-home consultation fee, which can be credited toward the purchase of five hours or more of organizing services ($75/hour).
Email, phone
or live chat
Design a reach-in
closet online
Design a reach-in
closet online

Contact us...

Live chat with
an expert

or let us contact you.

Use the form below and we will contact you within 24 hours*.

Email an expert

Schedule your installation

To schedule your installation, please call 888-202-7622 or fill out the form below.

Schedule your in-home measuring

To schedule your in home measuring appointment, please call 888-202-7622 or fill out the form below.
The fee for measuring is $50 for unlimited spaces due at time of service.

Schedule appointment

To schedule your installation, please call 888-202-7622.

Thank you

Got it! An Elfa expert will get [call/email/text] you in the next 24 hours. Thanks for your interest!

We need your info

*In some markets, there is a $100 In-home consultation fee, which can be credited toward the purchase of five hours or more of organizing services ($75/hour).

Umbra Natural Rectangular Crunch Basket with Handles

  • Rectangular Crunch Basket by Umbra
  • &
  • Rectangular Crunch Basket by Umbra
  • &
Roll over to zoom
Click to view larger
$19.99/ea.


Shipping
FREE shipping on orders $75 or more
See shipping options

Free Pickup
1 in-stock at Reston
Check other stores

Same-day Delivery
Not Available for Delivery
See delivery details

Umbra Natural Rectangular Crunch Basket with Handles
$19.99/ea.

Overview

Product Information

Made from polypropylene-lined cotton canvas, the intriguing Rectangular Crunch Basket by Umbra is an interactive, multi-purpose container. It starts in the "crunched" position. To use, just pull it open and form it into a shape of your liking. It crunches back down for storage (click on the image to the right to see this feature of the product). This fascinating basket can be used for loads of laundry or dry cleaning, toys or stuffed animals.

  • Made from cotton canvas lined in polypropylene with steel wire rim
  • Crunches down flat for storage; pops-up for use
  • Two loop handles for easy transport
SKU#:

10016770

Dimensions

  • 22" x 11" x 13" h

Related Items

Reviews

Umbra Natural Rectangular Crunch Basket with Handles is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 138.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lightweight storage bag Bag is looks nice, it is sort of a shiny platic Didn’t like the canvas handle that are just sewn to the fabric They seem too light for the bag I would like it better if the handles looped around the frame and were sewn to themselves. This would be stronger
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional and attractive Purchased two of these crunch cans to use as hampers/laundry baskets at my brother's place. They're a little smaller than I wanted but found that they hold a good sized pile of dirty or freshly laundered clothes and the handles are strong enough to handle the weight when packed full. The natural texture of the fabric construction is attractive and the interior lining makes them more sturdy and easy to wipe clean if needed. I can think of a variety of uses for the different sizes of these "cans." Taking towels and other accessories to the pool or beach, catch alls for children's toys or stuffed animals, a place to store throws and extra pillows in the living room. I'm sure there are many more those are just a few that come immediately to mind.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product to hold laundry on main floor during the week. It's the perfect size and can be cleaned easily. When not in use it can be crunched down and hidden. I like that it can be easily removed to another room when visitors come over. I like the versatility of it and will be buying another for my car. It can be used for so many different things! Perhaps I need two more.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sturdy I bought this for grocery shopping, but found that it is not sturdy enough for heavier items. If I had a large family and did a lot of shopping, I could use for light weight items. Unfortunately, that is not the case, so I purchased another one from the Container store to meet my needs.
Date published: 2019-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy Bag for Holding Purses and Bags I purchased this to hold loose bags and purses that were collecting on our closet shelf. This bag is perfect - big enough to contain everything I wanted but not rigid so holds bags nicely. It's a great size and strong material.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted These are pliable enough to get into a tight fit in my closet but stable enough to fill up with all that they need to hide on that shelf.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addictive to cats I bought two of these to move stuff up and down stairs -- one at the top, one at the bottom. They're supposed to collect things that need to be somewhere else. Then, one day, my cat jumped into it. Okay ... I picked up the basket and moved her down the stairs. Now she will not stop jumping into the basket, asking for a "basket ride." She'll pat me on the thigh, then go jump into it. I am now hauling my cat up and down the stairs. This product nicely transports one 8 pound cat. I'm betting it could fit a 12 pound cat, but I think our 18 pound cat is a bit large for it.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best laundry bag Great size, sturdy material and comfortable handles to carry heavy loads to laundry machine. This size only sold at Container Store. Love it, just replaced the old one from years ago.
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy bag I own 5 of these multi purpose totes. Great sized bag with a sturdy structure. I use these bags for laundry, beach trips, shopping and transporting bulkier items to and from. The interior is lined with some sort of plastic coating. Makes it a lot easier to clean if something spills. The handles are a bit thin, but for the price you can’t beat it.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indestructible!!!! Full disclosure: I purchased 3 of these baskets 15 years ago...the exact same baskets are still being used today. They've been used as laundry baskets for my kids' rooms, grocery bag corrals in my minivan and sedan, beach bags, storage baskets for Elfa pieces, trip bags (one for me and one each for the kiddos) where all our clothes, shoes, toiletries, etc. went in for the 2 week stays with Mom and Dad. The cool thing is not only do they scrunch down, but they scrunch around to fit into odd shaped places like a car trunk so your stuff stays together while you maximize all available space. These basket are easy to clean (rinse them off with a hose and let dry) but they also have a water repellent surface on the inside so even if you have a spill it stays contained...how cool is that!
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from really big I love this can. It fits so much stuff and the fabric is strong.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for storing bedding These are perfect for keeping the closet organized. We keep throws in one and bedding for the sleeper sofa in the other. They look neat in the closet and are a great size.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great laundry baskets! We have several of these we have added to our house over the past 6 years and absolutely love them for laundry. The don't break and leave craggy plastic edges like the ones we had growing up and there are really no signs of wear even after 6 years on our oldest one. The straps have held up great to the weight of carrying laundry. Bonus, our toddler can play in them without breaking them!
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great slim storage with huge capacity We live in a tiny city townhouse, and yet host our 3 grown children, their partners & the great dane when they all visit... so we need spare bedding x 3 (double bed, sofa bed, & air mattress). These great bins live up high on a narrow ledge; each holds 2 pillows, blanket & sheets for a bed.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this basket! I've had one for years--I can't even remember how many. Has lasted forever. I use it for returnable soda bottles and cans. It fits perfectly in a pantry cabinet and when it's full I pull it out and take it to the grocery store recycling machines.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient for it's large capacity, though when full I need help getting it down the stairs :-). I have had this size and one of a smaller size for years and they are well made and sturdy.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar kids storage! I purchased 3 of these for my sons' walk in closet reorganization and I'm more than pleased! They are lightweight yet very durable and hold a TON! And I love the fashionable, nubby chambray-ish material. I hung these off the ground and used for storing soft toys, costumes, and nerf/sporting equipment. My closet was organized in minutes! You won't be disappointed with these. Amazing value-I imagine these will be around my house for years to come.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a toy bin! I bought this to use as a toy bin and it has not disappointed! My toddler spilt water in it and all I had to do was wipe it clean!
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Umbra Laundry Bag is the Best Sturdy, durable, holds a ton of laundry. No more ripping of mesh laundry bags. These very sturdy Umbra bags are the best - super strong handles that will never break.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good decision A great improvement over my old plastic hamper. It's attractive, light, collapsible, and fits well into a newly renovated space.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for A While I've had these about 2 years and I loved them at first; lightweight, flexible, collapsible. Then the frame started to bend, yesterday one of the cotton twill tape handles ripped away from the fabric and frame leaving a hole in the fabric and in the hem. I have two of them that I use to take laundry from my bedroom to the car to the laundry facilities and back, I wasn't carrying them long distances. Each basket holds about 2 loads of laundry and I wasn't over filling them; between the two baskets were clothes for two people for a week, two towels, a bath mat and a set of sheets. I was hoping they would last at least another year.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wonderful with One Disappointing Drawback I have the blue large rectangular crunch can and love its color. With its waterproof lining, I thought it would be perfect for my pets' toys so that it could be wiped out, and pleasantly decorative. (One of my dogs has even made it her nap time bed.) Unfortunately, I tried to wipe off a smudge on the outside, and learned that the fabric is not colorfast. The large blotch on it defeated its decorative purpose. It's seems ironic (or not) that something lined in vinyl would not be colorfast. Really disappointed because it was attractive and could have served some other storage needs as well.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product ever made, love that it is water proof!
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crunch can is the best I use the crunch can as a laundry basket . It is perfect.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what we needed The crunch can is a beautiful solution for our laundry needs. We wanted a laundry basket that we could easily carry to the laundry room, something light weight. This product delivers on all the levels I expected and more. It stays upright and to my surprise didn't collapse under the pressure of overflowing laundry. I absolutely love the grey color we chose.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Laundry Baskets ever I have just purchased my second 2 baskets after 6 years of the first 2. My kids moved out of the house and took my 2 with them so I bought 2 more! They scrunch up to fit between the wall and the washer and pop back out when I need to fill them with laundry. The first 2 are still in really good shape and I am excited to have new patterns to change things up! Love Love Love
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for many things I first bought these for my car. It is great to keep items from rolling around the trunk and cuts trips into the house with multiple bags in half. I later purchased one for all my nieces and nephews as laundry baskets. They are light weight and since they fold flat, they take up minimal storage space. They look like fabric but have an easy to clean interior. Will likely buy more.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great laundry hamper I have 3, tan, blue, pink. I like being able to color code the laundry hampers to the members of our household. If you are trying to do the same, something to consider.. I originally wanted gray in place of tan but found it a little too similar to the blue. I have previously used the original crunch can in natural canvas for over 10 years and it is moving to a different room in the house as it is still in amazing condition. I am thrilled with the continued quality of these new ones and look forward to having them for many years as well.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy My daughter bought this at the store and when we got home I realized I needed one too! Love the cylinder style, love the color scheme, love the handles. Perfect for me and my husband to share :)
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for recycling I bought two of these for my kitchen to sort recycling. Very sturdy and they hold alot. The handles make it super easy to take them downatairs for sorting the recycling in our garage. They crunch down flat to store away when we have company over.
Date published: 2015-11-23
  • y_2019, m_6, d_13, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_138
  • loc_, sid_10007286, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore

Community Q&A

What is maximum weight that can be carried in this tote?

Asked by: PonyParty
A lot! I currently have one basket filled with Elfa metal shelf supports that probably weighs 25 pounds with no problems at all. That may exceed the manufacturer's operating tolerances but these baskets can take a lot of punishment.
Answered by: Outnumbered
Date published: 2019-05-27

Does this hamper stand erect when empty?

I need to fit in my laundry room spaces in the shelves to the bottom right of the photo as shown and wonder if they will work. Want them to be sturdy and attractive.
Asked by: kismet94
Yes, it does stand erect even if it's empty.
Answered by: Outnumbered
Date published: 2018-09-08

my space is 21 inches, will this "scrunch" to fit?

Asked by: J3nn
Yes, you should be able to squeeze it in since the basket isn't rigid.
Answered by: Outnumbered
Date published: 2018-09-08

Can you wash it - either machine or hand wash?

If it gets dirty/dusty, is it possible to wash it?
Asked by: greencrvgirl
I just take it outside and use the hose, although you could use the shower as well. I wouldn't attempt to machine wash it because of the frame.
Answered by: Outnumbered
Date published: 2019-02-26

Is the exterior completely covered with cloth?

I don't want them to scratch my floor when being slid out from under bench.
Asked by: nolamom
Yes. That shouldn't be a problem.
Answered by: Klirtums
Date published: 2019-05-04

Does the basket stay folded down when you fold it?

Asked by: SRQ1
yes.
Answered by: julzounanian
Date published: 2019-03-09

Can this can be laundered when and if needed?

Asked by: Blackjack
It should be fine on gentle cycle.
Answered by: Betsy01
Date published: 2019-04-22

What are the dimensions when open (Length, width, height) and then closed (Length, width, height)?

Asked by: Fatboy
Our Natural Rectangular Crunch Basket measures 22" x 11" x 13" h when open and "crunches" down to just 4" to 5" inches for compact storage.
Answered by: psb87
Date published: 2018-12-31
  • y_2019, m_6, d_13, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_17
  • loc_, sid_10007286, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore

© 2019 The Container Store. Prices and availability are subject to change from the time and date you print this page 06/15/2019.

Back to Top