close
Mood board attached
Image attached

How do you want to work with your closet expert?

In-store
appointment
In-home
Consultation*
*In some markets, there is a $100 In-home consultation fee, which can be credited toward the purchase of five hours or more of organizing services ($75/hour).
Email, phone
or live chat

How do you want to work with your closet expert?

In-store
appointment
In-home
Consultation*
*In some markets, there is a $100 In-home consultation fee, which can be credited toward the purchase of five hours or more of organizing services ($75/hour).
Email, phone
or live chat
Design a reach-in
closet online
Design a reach-in
closet online

Contact us...

Live chat with
an expert

or let us contact you.

Use the form below and we will contact you within 24 hours*.

Email an expert

Schedule your installation

To schedule your installation, please call 888-202-7622 or fill out the form below.

Schedule your in-home measuring

To schedule your in home measuring appointment, please call 888-202-7622 or fill out the form below.
The fee for measuring is $50 for unlimited spaces due at time of service.

Schedule appointment

To schedule your installation, please call 888-202-7622.

Thank you

Got it! An Elfa expert will get [call/email/text] you in the next 24 hours. Thanks for your interest!

We need your info

*In some markets, there is a $100 In-home consultation fee, which can be credited toward the purchase of five hours or more of organizing services ($75/hour).

12-Drawer Storage Chest

  • 12-Drawer Storage Chest
  • &
  • &
  • &
  • 12-Drawer Storage Chest
  • &
  • &
  • &
Roll over to zoom
Click to view larger
$139.99/ea.


Shipping
FREE shipping on orders $75 or more
See shipping options

Free Pickup
2 in-stock at Reston
Check other stores

Same-day Delivery
Not Available for Delivery
See delivery details

12-Drawer Storage Chest
$139.99/ea.

Overview

Product Information

The progressive design of our Italian 12-Drawer Storage Chest helps you get and stay organized. Each unit features securely-locking, 2-1/2" deep drawers (just press on the handle to open) and is constructed of translucent plastic for visibility of the contents. Units can be joined vertically, horizontally or to a wall. No strangers to hard work, these drawers are up to the task of organizing and storing loads of papers, receipts, bills, tax records, school work, art projects, tools, hardware or small toys. Each comes with casters for effortless mobility. To attach the casters to the cabinet, first turn the cabinet upside down. You will see a hole in each of the four corners. Insert the two rounded rubber plugs in the openings at the front of the cabinet; insert the two rectangular rubber plugs in the openings in the back of the cabinet. Now, push the stem of a caster into the hole of each plug. Flip the cabinet over, and you're ready to roll!

SKU#:

10076341

Dimensions

  • 15-1/4" x 11-3/8" x 39" h

Product Manual

Related Items

Reviews

12-Drawer Storage Chest is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to install casters Casters are hard to install (tight fit) but overall very happy with purchase to organize cookie cutters
Date published: 2019-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this thing! I saw it, and knew instantly that this storage case would store my large collection of sandals and flip flops. Once I finally figured out how to put the wheels on, i’m In business. Now they aren’t lost in a pile in my closet, they no longer get dusty and I can get dressed quickly.
Date published: 2019-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with my purchase It was exactly what I was expecting, (although with the price I was hoping for a little better quality). We are using it for school supplies/office supplies and we went from 8 big miscellaneous boxes of crayons, markers, pencils, pens, stickers, paper, etc. to having everything nicely organized and available in this storage chest. It came with a bag of several plastic pieces ( 16 I think) and the castors and I could only figure out what half of them were for. (No instructions were included and online there is only instructions for the castors). Although it doesn’t seem to matter? I would definitely buy again, my only complaint is that the price seems a little too high for what you get.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great For Clearing Project Files Off Desk I love these drawers. As an "expressive" personality type, I tend to have documents and papers stacked by project on my desk. What a mess. Now I just put them in a drawer and label the drawer for each major project I am tending (e.g. Travel Planning, Financial Planning, Mom's Estate, Home Improvement). When a relevant piece of paper appears related to the project, I toss it in the labeled drawer and use it when I return to focus on the project. My desk is still a mess, but at least I can find all pertinent papers for each project in one place. Also, the drawers slide easily out of the cabinet so that you can move it to your desk when working on the project.
Date published: 2018-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Top Quality Organization is a wonderful thing. It fits everthing great.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jewelry cart I have collected hundreds of pieces of vintage jewelry over the years. I had them in boxes, jewelry organizers , and train cases. I actually have 2 drawers empty in this container. It rolls and I can keep it within easy reach. Best purchase for myself in a while. Seems to be pretty sturdy and not flimsy
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bead Storage I have been an avid beader for years, and those who bead know how hard it is to find good storage solutions for jewelry making items. This is great. The shallow drawers make it easy to find your needed items. I bought a 12 drawer chest, and also the 4 drawer unit and stacked them. It is sturdy, and the drawers snap shut, so they won't come out when opening or spill beads. Some have written that they have trouble figuring out how to put on the castors. My son was home and did this, but I noticed a pdf manual at the site. I bought a dymo label maker, to use on the drawers. It doesn't stick because of the texture of the material, but I covered the labels with clear scotch tape, and that works fine. I would suggest this cabinet for beading, needle working, or anything that uses small and numerous supplies.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for small tools In had a heavy 4 drawer craftsman toolbox plus a bunch of bins where my tools were stored on different shelves in the garage. This chest now holds all my light tools like screwdrivers, hammers, dremel, pliers, files, framing stuff, etc in much less space, and all together. Now that I don't have to keep the top of my old toolbox open and on a shortened shelving unit, I can get the heavier tools and bins on the same shelving unit with this chest next to it (plus a 44 drawer cabinet also bought here for all my screws, nails and small bits) and now everything is in one compact area. Only wish it had one or two drawers a little taller to hold tools like a mallet. I always find other people's pictures helpful so even though I haven't finished clearing off the top shelf where my toolbox used to be, here's what it looks like.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Craft Room Storage This is the second 12 drawer tower I have purchased, and I love how easy the roller legs are to attach! This is perfect for all of my rubber stamps, Ink pads, and acrylic blocks. Wish I had room for one more ;)
Date published: 2016-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought this thinking that all my jewelry-making supplies, which covered half my kitchen table, would fit. I got most of it in, except BEADS. So I bought the same product in the 5-drawer version use for beads. I'm sure the person who couldn't figure out the wheels got help. I could have fit everything in, there is plenty of space. But if you want things separated and the drawers labeled, you won't fill every square inch of each drawer. The smaller one can fit on top of the larger one, or on the table. Many people have a lot more supplies than I do, so consider using this tower plus the smaller one. For example, dividers would allow you to keep silver and gold findings/wire/chain in the same drawer without getting mixed together.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Chest I needed a different storage for my ink pads (I'm a stamper/card maker) and I chose this. The drawers are less deep than usual, and I can get ALL my many ink pads in the drawers grouped by colors. I can get them stacked at least 2 deep if I need to. Also, I can move the chest around easily to where I'm working because of the wheels. Plus it stores easily and takes up so little room. Oh, and the drawers "lock" so they don't come flying open to spill the contents.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could be good, but.... I was very excited to get this set of drawers. It was just the right size for what I need. But it came without any directions. I still haven't figured out how to attach them securely. Plus the only places I could figure out to put them is so close to the middle that it tips if you try to roll it. I took them off which makes it hard to move. Also. Not all the drawers lock as they should. Disappointing for the cost.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Size/Dimensions I hate digging for small items. That's why I like the height of these drawers. The somewhat tall height of the entire unit means more storage in less space. The depth is unobtrusive. It came with several small pieces, including caster adapters and casters. I could not find any paper/instructions but Customer Service was very helpful. (Some pieces are provided just in case you get more than one unit and you want to connect them.)
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trailer Organizer I think this set of draws is based on a Dentist Cabinet. It is great for some of my smaller stuff - flatware - a couple of dishes- cleaning supplies for my equipment . I am using it in the tack/sleeping part of a gooseneck horse trailer. It fits under a custom shelf. I was going to build some draws but it was much simpler to order them - and they will add less weight to the load (horse weighs 1100 lbs) I also got 2 trays to put in the top draws. They fit fine. I have not gotten everything sorted out yet.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great piece this cabinet is lightweight, yet very sturdy. The drawers come all the way out, unlike most plastic storage drawer units. I love it.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The answer to all my problems Well, maybe not the answer to ALL my problems, but this one solves a lot of things at our shop, where I have oodles of miscellaneous vintage ephemera, signage, card stock, little bits and pieces of this and that. With 12 drawers, I can organize and store it all, in a relatively small footprint. The unit itself is very well made, and I love that the drawers snap shut. Wheels seem to be very sturdy. Although it doesn't come with labels, there are plenty of good labels out there, and lots of options for where to place them on each drawer if needed. Might have to order one for my home, too.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Chest! Great for storing office supplies right next to my desk! Drawers close securely with a click.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great organizer My bead findings were all over the place. I was so frustrated not being able to find a good way to organize them. This cabinet has done the trick. The only thing it lacks is a label slot. I love how I can take out a drawer and it is sturdy and keeps my materials together. The construction is solid and compact. The wheels make it easy to move around my work area.
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Indispensable for homeschool We homeschool and we have one chest for each child. Each subject gets it's own drawer (we put a fun label on the outside of each drawer). It keeps all of our books and materials centralized so that we're not running around searching for things when we could be learning. When we're done with school, we roll these into a closet. In this way, our house doesn't look too much like school, and other kids won't accidentally mess up the school stuff when they come to visit. The chest is very solid and I expect it to last a good long time. I'm sure we'll be using it for other purposes once the children are out of school.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really organized This is the best tool to keep "to do" and "where did I put that" articles, you can label each drawer, put the file right next to your desk, and you have all those item at your fingertips .. drawers open easy, kinda hard to put on the wheels. overall a great organizer
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! When my cart arrived I was really surprised at house dirty and strong it is. It is very well made. The only thing is they had forgotten to ship the wheels with it. I used the online chat and within 10 minutes it was fixed and they were shipping me a new wheels. So I am extremely happy not only with the product but also with the customer service!
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for so many things..... I bought two of these and love them for my miniature crafts. I'd like to have a few more in my office. Great product.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this storage chest! I'm a jeweler and have been on the hunt for a storage chest that I could keep beside my work bench. I wanted something with many drawers so I could organize my tools and assorted supplies. It's a short reach to pull out tools as I'm working. This works great! I love it so much I bought two of them. If I had the space, I'd buy a third unit.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable, Built very well!! I have tried other organizers and have taken them back because they're flimsy and they either don't last or the drawers sag with some weight in them. Not this one! I love the way that handles lock but it's so easy to open them. My only complaint would be that there was no instructions or paperwork that came with the storage container and there were some extra parts that I am not sure what to do with or where they go. Other than that it's a really great organizer!
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This is a great storage chest. I like the twelve drawers and the sturdiness of the product. The product is visually appealing. I only wish that the drawers could accomodate taller items and that the drawers were deeper.
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought two already.... Very well made, I have bought two thus far- one to hold some of my cookie cutters (I like to bake) and one to hold some of my rubber stamps (I like to craft). The units can be stationary or put on wheels (provided) and moved easily in reach or out of the way. The drawers "lock closed" so cabinet can be lifted to move up or downstairs. The unit can also be "linked" along side another or easily stacked. The drawer can be removed to adjust order of items stored or to be taken to a another location for the contents to be used elsewhere. * There are attachment parts included- wheels and other bits for a variety of linking/stacking to other units and for attaching the wheels. There are no instructions included. Store personnel had to find someone who knew and could explain what all the parts were for (and how to attach them).
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit Initially I purchased this for my sewing scissors,notions and thread, but had enough drawer space left over to house my art brushes & paints, craft beads & do-dads, decorative hole punchers, glues,scrapbook embellishments and ribbons. Leave it to the Italians to design an efficient organizer as this! I have it in my closet & put my portable sewing machine on top (at an angle). Despite HOW LARGE your sewing/craft collection is, you will be surprised what you can fit in this organizer.
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from craft storage This rolling cart is great... I bought it for some of my craft storage, and it has worked well. Sometimes the drawers don't "lock" shut, but that is the only thing I could find that would be slightly negative.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality High quality storage chest is made in Italy. Very hard to find this type of storage with deep drawers to store irregular shaped items. Best of all the chest came already assembled.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great and great for organizing It fits well in my home office closet, and helps me keep office supplies organized. Durable plastic construction with easy to open/close drawers.
Date published: 2013-04-27
  • y_2019, m_8, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_, sid_10000528, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore

Community Q&A

Suitable for tools?

How heavy duty are the drawers? Would this be suitable as a tool chest?
Asked by: JonathanDowers
Yes, I put all my small, light tools in this and managed to fill the whole thing. Hammers, screwdrivers (including electric), dremel, ratchet, drill bits, heavy duty stapler, stud finder, pliers, utility knives and blade refills, framing supplies, sanding blocks, stud finder, etc. It is still a thin-ish plastic drawer so no heavy stuff (limited drawer height anyway - my mallet did not fit). I would NOT put a bunch of wrenches in one drawer for example. I attached pictures showing several drawers pulled out as well as 3 drawer contents - they are not stuffed full - which is why 12 drawers worked out to be a good number. You could put 50% more as much in a craftsman toolbox drawer but you'd pay that much more too.
Answered by: Dogsinfl
Date published: 2019-06-16

Can this storage chest be separated into two separate stacks of drawers?

The description of this product states "units can be joined horizontally, vertically, or to a wall." Does this mean I can buy two storage chest to make a stack of 14 drawers and 10 drawers if needed?
Asked by: fishfishandmorefish
Yes, it can be separated at any level; however, there is no top for your second stack unless you purchase an additional 12 drawer tower. So yes, you can make it 18 and 2 if you wanted, but you do need 2 units. There are 4 tabs on the inside corners that you have to push in pretty hard to separate the drawers. That said, if anyone knows the manufacturer or how to get a second top please let me know><
Answered by: vetstack
Date published: 2019-05-18

Is the back of this unit solid or open?

Asked by: Pibby
The back is definitely not solid. You can see the drawers from the back. There is a strip going down the middle, but definitely not solid.
Answered by: Pibby
Date published: 2019-02-18

Will items in drawers lay flat?

In one of your previous answers you mentioned that the drawers have an indention in the middle, unless I misunderstood. Is that the case? I want to use it for photographs and would like to know if the contents of the drawers will lay flat? Thanks!
Asked by: Olivia24
It depends on how much perfectionism or anxiety is in your personality. The drawer bottoms are not completely flat. They are slightly curved. If the photos are 3 x 5, they would probably stay mostly flat. But if they are 8-1/2 x 11, they would curve slightly.
Answered by: Tryin
Date published: 2018-09-07

How much drawer space does this have?

I teach third grade and am looking to find a container to keep all my students markers, colored pencils, crayons ect. Would these drawers fit those materials nicely?
Asked by: KendraJoyce
The drawer height is about 2-1/4". This unit would generally be very good for storage of classroom art materials. However if a drawer were packed with heavy materials, the support underneath each drawer would likely sag or curl, which could cause difficulty opening some drawers or even breakage.
Answered by: Tryin
Date published: 2019-02-18

How do you install the wheels?

My cart didn't come with directions and came with a bunch of random parts. What are they all used for? How do you install the wheels? Thanks!
Asked by: Rebecca7
I did it alone, super easy.
Answered by: Liz0412
Date published: 2019-07-24

Can you label the drawers? If so, how, and what is needed?

Asked by: TropDeChoses
Yes--I used my Brother P-Touch Labeler and simply applied labels to outside of drawers.
Answered by: thegrillgirl
Date published: 2019-06-16

I am lookingfor lego storage for older kids. would this be a good option?

Asked by: 300zx
That is exactly what we use if for and it works great. It is even light enough we can carry it up and down the stairs when needed.
Answered by: caworgmom
Date published: 2019-06-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_15, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_, sid_10000528, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore

© 2019 The Container Store. Prices and availability are subject to change from the time and date you print this page 08/19/2019.

Back to Top