< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Espresso Profile Wall Shelves

Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5

Espresso Profile Shelves

Espresso Profile Wall Shelves

Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Espresso Profile Shelves

Most helpful top-rated review

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Better Than Expected
5 out of 5

I travel a lot and pick up many different art pieces. I have trouble displaying them because I like to scatter them around. Bookshelves are nice, but look cluttered after a while. The Profile shelves are the perfect solution of minimal wall space. They are rich in color and have clean lines. My displays can get grouped on walls and the beautiful...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

There are no reviews that fit this criteria.

Espresso Profile Wall Shelves is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Most Difficult to Install These are handsome shelves, but extremely difficult to install. The mounting hardware is unforgiving. If your holes are a millimeter off, the shelves won't fit onto the posts, and there is absolutely no slack or play to adjust them. I had to re-drill the shelf holes with a wider bit so the shelves would fit. Also, the hardware includes only screws for drywall installation. Because I had a masonry wall, I had to buy a new set of screws and mollies.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but wish the hardware was color coded I like this shelf. I placed it in a small bathroom, high, so it could hold supplies. Easy to put up. The only suggestion is that I would like the hardware that shows (the bracket) to be color coordinated. I purchased the white and since the shelf will mostly be seen from the bottom, would like the hardware to "blend in". I decided to spray paint the hardware and it looks good, but it is an extra step. Generally I've found the items sold at the Container Store to be excellent quality. I have two elfa closets and lots of other good stuff from the CS.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It really is espresso An earlier reviewer said that this shelf is more of a dark cherry wood tone than espresso. I have several of these espresso profile shelves, purchased more than a year ago, and they are, in fact, a dark cherry wood tone, which is what I wanted and expected in this shelf. Alas, the shelf I just purchased is the espresso/black that the earlier reviewer was looking for, not the cherry wood tone that would match my existing shelves. Can't please everyone, I guess. That said, these shelves are great. Easy to install and hold up well. But I will probably return this one because it doesn't match the others.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Well built Shelving Easy to mount on wall. Have now purchased 2.
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shelf This shelf is exactly what I was looking for. Easy to install and very stable.
Date published: 2013-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Looks nothing like online picture Even the employee helping me with my store pick-up agreed (and had heard before) that these espresso shelves were not really espresso. They look more like cherry wood. Do not buy if truly looking for espresso finish.
Date published: 2013-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great No brackets underneath mean that it looks great, doesn't take up much room on the wall, and you can mount several in a small amount of space
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shelves These were a great buy. Affordable, sturdy, well-made and easy to put up. I purchased 3 shelves and put them all up in less than an hour. A tip - tape the template to the wall with scotch or paitner's tape and level it - then drill into the wall. It saves a lot of time. The only drawback to them is that I was not able to adjust where the shelf fasteners hit the wall so I only got 1 bracket into a stud for each shelf. I had to use the drawall hangers for the others.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expresso Profile Shelves Awesome shelves. Love them. already have four and added two more.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love everything! Ordered profile shelf -- already have 4. Should have ordered a 24" shelf. Love the scarf hangers.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for light objects. Wasn't hard to install. I mounted the 24" shelfs on stud locations 16" apart. We put up two brass statues weighing about 20 lbs. They looked great for about two weeks, until the braces below the screws compressed the dry wall and the shelves tilted downward. I solved this by putting spacers into the drywall. Great for a little while, until the actual rods supporting the shelves bent under the weight. As I said before, if you are storing anything heavy, stick with the old fashion shelving brackets.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth The Effort. Though these shelves do require some thought and effort to install, they're worth it. They are sturdy and a tasteful means of displaying a variety of items. A fine choice.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to install The profile shelves look exactly as I wanted, but as someone who has installed many, many shelves, etc over the years, I found these to have absolutely no room for maneuvering the mounting hardware. Since the drilling and the drywall are not precise to the 32nd of an inch I had to really bully the shelves into place, and found the mounting process very time consuming and frustrating, although they do look nice once up, the installation process was not user friendly!
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for CDs, DVDs I use these shelves for CDs and DVDs, which allowed me to eliminate some bulky storage shelves in a small room. I have them wrapped around the room up high and they look great. I must comment that they are only 5 1/2" deep, not 5 3/4" like the description said. This can matter! In this case, they worked great, just fitting the width of the items. Use the templates for installation- and I replaced the squeeze-push type of dry-wall mollies with the cork kind (just a preference). It comes with wood screws and the dry-wall screws, both. Love them!
Date published: 2011-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Looking Shelves I just hung two of the three foot shelves today. They were easy to install using the template, even though it was my first time ever using toggle bolts. I was happy that all the hardware was included. They look good and seem very sturdy.
Date published: 2011-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! This shelf was so easy to install and it looks beautiful! Just make sure you use the template and a drill - once you've followed the set-up instructions, all it takes is screwing in the posts and sliding the shelf on. Very sturdy and great to look at!
Date published: 2011-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking shelves. I bought two of these shelves for a small guest bathroom. They look lovely. Are great for a stand alone shelf and no need for any additional dressing up. Put something on the and they are a nice addition to any room.
Date published: 2011-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful shelf This shelf is great. Not only does it look good, but it is sturdy. The installation process challenged me just a bit but I got it done and that shelf isn't moving. It is really a lovely addition to my room.
Date published: 2011-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy for low profile! These shelves give you the 'platform' space needed to display with a very low profile - I have used several of these for CD storage and vase display!
Date published: 2011-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these shelves! I purchased two of these profile shelves for the office. They look fantastic! Clean and simple. The shelves only come out 5", the perfect depth to display frames and other tchotchkes without seeming overbearing. The installation process took a little while. The hardware is a bar that sticks out, and limits the ability to use certain tools (like a drill, if you don't have an extender for the bit). Other than that, it went up easily and I love having them.
Date published: 2010-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative to end table or nightstand We floated one of these on the wall next to our sofa in a small sitting room. It provided just enough surface for a phone, the TV/cable remotes, and a beverage, in a space that was so narrow that we could not find a end table with those dimensions. And we slid a narrow magazine rack underneath it between the end of the sofa and the wall. Voila! Floating end table. Easy to install, too.
Date published: 2010-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shelves in Our Den I like the clean design of these shelves. They show off my items well.
Date published: 2010-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleek, Stylish & Sturdy I looked all over for a shelf to hold up a large picture in my bedroom and this is by far the most secure good looking shelf. The shelf is simple yet sleek and stylish. I was most impressed how the unit mounts to the wall. I highly recommend this shelf.
Date published: 2010-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Expected I travel a lot and pick up many different art pieces. I have trouble displaying them because I like to scatter them around. Bookshelves are nice, but look cluttered after a while. The Profile shelves are the perfect solution of minimal wall space. They are rich in color and have clean lines. My displays can get grouped on walls and the beautiful design never looks cluttered. They are durable and easy to install. I have traveled with them many places and they have weathered all the moves. Excellent value and I plan to purchase more.
Date published: 2010-03-03
  • y_2017, m_7, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_, sid_10002906, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore