< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

White Melamine Tops

Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5

White Melamine Tops

White Melamine Tops

Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5

Customer Reviews

White Melamine Tops

Most helpful top-rated review

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Nice overall
4 out of 5

The tops for the drawer units add a nice finished look to them and can be used for counter space. My only complaint is the two-sided sticky foam that comes with them to attach them to the drawer unit. It seems to hold very well, but the brown side doesn't peel easily and I ruined a couple of them fighting with it. Surely for the price we pay...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Not as high quality as they used to be
3 out of 5

Older melamine tops I have were routed to fit over the side rails. The newer tops are thinner and are applied with stick on tape. It was useful to be able to remove the top in the earlier version.

Read the full review >
White Melamine Tops is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and fits well This top fits the basket unit perfectly. It is attached with an adhesive tape. I'm not sure how effective the hold will be. It does make the unit more useable by giving a solid top on which other items can be stored. I use them in my sewing studio for storing my serger when it's not in use.
Date published: 2015-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HATE the new style top! I would give everything else a 5 star rating. But these tops I wouldn't even give 1 star if that were possible. I have some Elfa units that I have had for several years and love them. I just bought 3 more to add to the ones I have and the tops no longer fit down over the frame. Now you have to use tape to adhere them to the frame. WHY did you change them? The old tops could be lifted off at any time but were secure when on the frame. I have a large walk in pantry ready to finish and had planned to outfit it with the elfa units. Not now. Will find another option.
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome pull out drawers bought this to store toys in and wish I could go buy 10 more of these!! Very sturdy and serves its job.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa cool storage! I was in need for some quick easy storage and this fit the bill. This product went together easily and has ample storage and fits into my small walk-in closet. Great product, a little pricey!
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa I absolutely love the elfa systems and the staff at The Container Store is awesome.
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These shelves are amazing!! Great for storage and organization. Would recommend this to anyone looking for easy storage.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! Easy to put together, fits perfectly in the space, and seems durable.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful finishing touch We've had Elfa for years and love it. When I got some new drawer sets, I bought the melamine tops and I love them. They finish the drawers so contents in the top drawer are hidden away and the add additional room for extra storage, they are durable once you put them on the unit but be careful not to drop them before that - they are more fragile than they look and edges and corners can be vulnerable to chipping or bending, showing the pressed board underneath.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Solution I love my elfa cart but I needed to change the way I was using it. I had mine set up for files so to change it I purchased 2 drawers and the melamine top. The top gave me the extra tabletop space I needed. And, by adding 2 more drawers I was able to adapt the cart to fit my current needs. Not only is it perfect, it is really nice looking. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great product, I would recommend this to everyone. Great for storage and convenience.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wrapping paper organizer The melamine top was the perfect finishing touch to my wrapping paper organizer. I had no plans of buying a table top and was going to leave the drawer open but once I put the casters on, the drawers became a great quick card writing table that could roll anywere for wrapping writing or stacking gifts for prep.
Date published: 2014-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable Elfa I need to repurpose a drawer unit and needed a top for its new use. The drawer unit has been used for years and it's great to still be able to add to it. I have used Elfa products for a pantry and for an office space. It has served me well and the quality assures me I will be using it for many more years.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from White Melamine Top Still deciding if I will use the white top or the butcher block. The white top will be great in the laundry room - or butcher block if I keep this in the kitchen. . But either way I would recommend. Love Elfa products. Good quality. Easy to assemble.
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from organization got it for my daughter-in-law for under the kitchen now she has 3 places to store items in a small kitchen
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa drawer frames and tops I purchased 2 sets of the white 8 drawer frames and the white tops to go with them and they are excellent! I love the tight mesh of the drawers because it's a lot more versatile than the wire drawers I've purchased at other stores. I also got the tags so I can label the drawers and it works great. The only issue I have is that you have to be very careful placing the top on the double sided tape. It's almost impossible to reposition if you miss and don't get it set straight the first time.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa Shelving is a Life Saver I replaced my pantry closet shelving, that drove me insane, with a new Elfa unit. What a life saver! It was easy to assemble, the drawers glide easily in and out, and it is easy to store the pantry items I need. I highly recommend this purchase.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best Very easy to put together and improved my laundry closet 100%. Previously the closet was a mess because of the small space, but this system made the closet look larger, organized and clean. THE BEST
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa Drawer Frames I first bought these units as part of a closet makeover, then I moved and bought more to continue using as regular dressers. I'm downsizing and simplifying with functional and practical furnishings. I don't need or want fancy, expensive furniture and the Elfa Drawer Frames are durable, configurable, and space-saving. I use them as dressers and as a nightstand.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All those pieces It drives me crazy to buy something like this and have to put the frame together. Really, at these prices, why can't it come put together. The unit is still sitting in my closet waiting for assembly. Would love to be using it soon!. Maybe I can recommend after I get it assembled. Looked great in the store.
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa components As with all Elfa products, I am delighted to be able order components for my Elfa pieces, some of which were purchased almost 30 years and three moves ago. Ordering is simple, service is prompt, and above all, the products are USEFUL.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to top your Elfa units The white melamine tops were the perfect way to finish off the drawer units I bought for my office space. I like the clean look of the white and you don't get more durable than melamine.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and durable. A little heavy, but should be fine.
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good old Elfa, still around. Bought my first units 20 years ago, and recently came across another at a yard sale, but needed a new top , as old top was wrecked. I ordered one from the website, and a new top was quickly delivered for much less shipping than it would have cost to drive to the store, 70 miles away.
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Top I purchased an Elfa melamine top for my new cart. It certainly makes my cart more versatile. Thanks Elfa!
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completes the Frame This top completes the frame, sturdy and allows for storage on top of unit. Wipes clean with damp cloth. Easily placed with double sided tape provided.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa Shelves Just the Best! My whole office is Elfa - I feel just too organized and love it. We moved and I took most of the system with me. How great is that! Definitely worth the money!
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa mesh drawers We downsized 3 years and ever since moving to our smaller house, the closet in my quilting room/office has been a mess. Disorganized, cluttered, over crowded in some spots and not maximizing space in other closet sections. Our challenge was to take a small closet and divide it: 1/2 for work, and 1/2 for play (quilting and sewing). But actually it was quite easy with ELFA. Easy to install, a joy to look at and use. I feel so much better having a place for my stuff that is so accessible and organized. I love it! ELFA thought of everything from easy instructions of how to assemble the units to having the drawers pull out incredibly smoothly to easily attaching the drawer stops. Shelves on the work side were easy to install,and I can see exactly what I need at a glance.Thank you Container Store!
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adheres Very Tightly - Which Is Both Good and Bad I put the stickers on the tops of the frame, and carefully laid the melamine top on them. I then realized that the top was slightly awry, and tried to lift the lid to readjust it, but I could not budge it - it is clearly attached for all eternity. This is good in that I now absolutely trust that the top will always stay put, but I'd like to suggest that the Container Store consider using a type of adhesive that allows readjustments for a few minutes before bonding permanently.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maximize Your Space I totally love Elfa units. I am SO glad that these tops are offered. I don't like the look of having an open drawer on top of my unit, and I also feel it's a waste of valuable space. These are easy to put on, durable, and look great. You can choose to stack more storage, to leave it empty for a nice clean look on top of your unit(s), or you can choose to put more decorative items on them. I have had my oldest unit for about 4 years, it's been moved many times and it still looks great.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elfa Gift Wrap Cart The greatest way to organize all your gift wrap. No more crinkled paper or smashed bows that have to be thrown out. Keeps everything organized and easy to access. I have two carts: one for Christmas and one for all other occasions. Perfect in that it has wheels and can be "rolled away" into a closet when you're not using it.
Date published: 2012-11-23
  • y_2017, m_7, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_, sid_10000928, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore