< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

White elfa Mesh File Carts

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

White File Carts

White elfa Mesh File Carts

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Customer Reviews

White File Carts

Most helpful top-rated review

22 of 23 people found this review helpful

Love!
5 out of 5

I love this cart. It is simple, sturdy and rolls easily. It fits nicely under my elfa desk. If you purchase this and have trouble get your hanging file folders to fit properly, your hanging bar may be upside down. I had this problem (my husband put it together) and so have several others around the web. It should be in a u shape, not an n...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Difficult to assemble
3 out of 5

You need a rubber mallet to assemble this item. I found this item difficult to assemble, especially hammering in the crossbars. That step took half an hour. Once this item was assembled, it is sturdy, lightweight, and easy to move.

Read the full review >
White elfa Mesh File Carts is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 130.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I had expected Since I have a desk that doesn't have drawers, I thought this would be the perfect idea for additional storage. When I read the instructions, the first thing I noticed is that you need a rubber mallet. Then, the instructions were so vague that I did some tasks out of order that had to eventually be redone. i.e., You have to put the pins in the holes before you put the top and bottom frames on. But step one states to put the frames on. Some parts come separately, but aren't included in the actual instructions. i.e., The wheel bases, wheels, file hanging rods have NO INSTRUCTIONS, just pictures to refer to. The wheels do not have breaks on them - HUGE bummer. The pins that're provided to hold the baskets in place only really work when you push the baskets back. If you were to pull out the baskets too far, there is no pin to secure the basket on its track, meaning it's going to fall off the track. This happened to me when I was putting various items in the basket for the first time. If you were to put pins in the front, then you couldn't open the basket drawers at all. I would not recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and stylish desk organization Old school file cabinets and drawers are so bulky, this cart is great because it is compact, yet any paper I need to file (yes, even in this digital age) has a place. The best part is I can roll this cart out when I'm working/filing and roll it back under the desk when I'm done - BAM! Out of the way. Plus, with the drawers, I don't need any desk drawers, which isn't my style. What if I want to work at the kitchen table? Just roll the drawers/files wherever I want to work. Super cool. TIP: don't be a dork like me. Install the file rails the right way so the channel is up (forming a continuous U-shape), and the hooks on the file folders slide in the channel. I spent a few weeks with the rails upside down and...well, don't be a dork like me.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pretty but useless I've had this cart for a couple of months and am ready to replace it with something more functional. The file tracks simply do not stay in place so hanging folders shift and drop off into the top drawer below. The cart itself is very pretty, but the top half is designed for files so I'm not sure I will be able to salvage it for any purpose. This is the most disappointing item I have ever purchased from The Container Store.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wheels make it very functional! Sturdy, functional, and trendy with it's gray/metal color. Blends nicely in my minimalist home office decor.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great. It fits perfectly under my desk and very easy to ensemble.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits nicely under my desk! Mallet needed for assembly. Love that it fits under my desk. I keep important files in it that I use often. Slides easily.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I am very pleased with this product. The quality is great and it's a great price (on sale)! It was also easy to assemble.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neat Product It's relatively easy to assemble. It fits the purpose I was looking for. Just be sure if you are planning to roll it under a table that it is high enough to clear the files along with tabs. It is too big to fit under a regular desk. If going in a closet be sure that the closet is deep enough. I had done a lot of measuring ahead of time. Files move easily on the tracks and the storage areas are very handy.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MUST HAVE RUBBER MALLET Good construction and design. Fits well under desk. BUT, you must have a rubber mallet to assemble the parts. I only rated 4 stars since the directions were not clear. Each part had a set of directions, but an additional overall direction sheet would be very useful; especially for someone not used to this type of assembly. I am and could figure out the order of assembly but a novice would have a hard time.
Date published: 2015-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cart is great! The size is great for under the desk in my craft room. It was pretty easy to assemble although I did have trouble getting the casters to fit in the holes. I tried tapping them in with a rubber mallet. That didn't work. I ended up spraying some WD-40 on the metal part and they went in with just a little tapping!
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS UNIT - Small & Spacious Fits perfectly under my desk and I also love the 2 different sized drawers. Everything is easy to see and locate quickly.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from convenient, tidy file/storage unit The elfa mesh file cart was highly recommended by my office organization consultant, Kacy (The Inspired Office). It was easy to assemble, slides conveniently under my desk, and places files and office supplies at my fingertips. I love it!
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Solver With a tiny workspace, I needed some way to store my overwhelming supply of paperwork for multiple organizations until I filed them, my office tools, projects I was working on. This file cart truly met my need. Mine came without the filing cabinet on top. I purchased the strong top, on which I placed my office jet. Now I had more room on my desktop to work.
Date published: 2015-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing beats elfa I have a lot of elfa products in my home. This is a more recent purchase. I renovated a room to make a home office. I needed a system that could handle everyday filing needs - the stuff I access all the time. I love this elfa file cart. Plenty of room for all my active files, plus two great storage drawers. I keep extra file folders, binder clips, a label maker and more in there. This unit is made so well that it will last a lifetime.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for Easy to put together. A rubber mallet is recommended, but since I don't have one I used a regular hammer and block of wood and it worked out perfectly. This is perfect for holding my paperwork files and shipping supplies for a small business. It can hold a large number of hanging files. Definitely recommend.
Date published: 2014-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product ever I bought this product 12 years ago when I went to college with the intention of using it when I started teaching. Now that I am in the classroom, I have bought the product again because my original purchase is being used for personal files. It is durable and functional and worth every penny spent.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great filing solution! I was using two (very old) plastic crates to keep two sets of files - one for my bills and tax return info and one for the non-profit where I am a volunteer Treasurer. The crates were falling apart and very heavy to lift (I always put one on top of the other and worked on the top one) I bought two of these and they are working out very well! I am NOT handy but I put these carts together very quickly using a borrowed rubber mallet (I think it would be difficult to get the metal pieces together without the mallet). The files slide nicely on the rails and I can just roll the one I need over to my desk. The two baskets below the files are great for me to store bills to be paid or items to be filed. Using them frees up some space elsewhere in my home office. I love them.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed This Elfa filing cart is easy to put together, the wheels roll smoothly, and the price was reasonable. I plan to ask for the desk set-up for my birthday. It will be gorgeously functional once it all comes together! :-)
Date published: 2014-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds more!!! I bought this three drawer when I removed my oak desk and went to an Elfa desk top. I needed drawers and so I purchased this. The surprising thing is that these drawers hold more than the drawers in my old desk. They are convenient to pull out and push in. When I need the files, the whole cart moves very easily. I wonder why I didn't do this years ago!!!!!
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome helper This file cart is great because I can wheel it anywhere. I file while I'm watching tv! Makes filing painless.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item It was exactly what I was looking for. I file cabinet that is not to heavy looking but still hold a lot of files. Sturdier than it looks. Great value for the price.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from File Cart is Out of Sight! Love this portable file cart on wheels. All of my essential files are at my fingertips now. My Professional Organizer had this cart and I realized it was the perfect addition to my small office. The lighter, mesh platinum look is trendy and fashionable. It blends in nicely with other decor. The two lower trays are useful for frequently used items like envelopes and supplies you want to keep out of sight. Great first investment if you're ready to get organized. Plus, I got it on sale and that was awesome!
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best of it's kind easy to assemble, easy to move and useful for many purposes.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from File cart Love my file cart! It was easy to set up. Fits perfectly underneath a desk top. Thanks!
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Filing System EVER!!! I couldn't wait to get this product home and organize all of the documents I had been keeping in binders for so long. I love looking at this, it just makes me happy. And I can find exactly what I need in seconds! I showed this to a friend who bought one right away!
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I am an avid crafter and I needed something to store 12 x 12 paper conveniently and that looked good. After receiving the cart, which was very easy to put together, I knew it was perfect for my needs. It is metal instead of plastic, which I love. I also like the deep seven inch drawer and I know I will find it and the three inch drawer useful for other crafting items, I have already recommended this to a friend and will continue to recommend it. A great value for the price!
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new office on wheels This handy mini office organizer is now my traveling office. I take it to various rooms in the house depending on what project I am working on. You're gonna love this one!
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for a closet office Perfect for a small/part-time family business in a 1-bedroom apt. The drawers underneath are HUGE.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovelove Love my new letter file cart!! Helps this unorganized girl get organized!
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This file cart allows for file cabinet storage of important papers along with space for desk top and desk drawer items. The wheels make it super easy to move where it is needed. It is also attractive. Perfect solution for storage in a small space
Date published: 2014-03-03
  • y_2017, m_10, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_130
  • loc_, sid_10017391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore