< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Natural Cotton Hanging Storage Bags

Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Natural Cotton Hanging Storage Bags

Natural Cotton Hanging Storage Bags

Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Natural Cotton Hanging Storage Bags

Most helpful top-rated review

28 of 28 people found this review helpful

Canvas Hanging Suit Bag
5 out of 5

I bought the smallest canvas bag "suit-sized" from the Container Store in Edina, MN and love it. I currently have it full with 3 suits, 1 blazer jacket, 1 leather jacket, a tie hanger, and a tweed hat and some blocks of cedar in the bottom all without being crammed in. All my suits and jackets are on large curved wide-shoulder hangers...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

25 of 26 people found this review helpful

Purchase with consideration of what you're getting
2 out of 5

The storage bag material is quality and I am pleased with their look and function, however a critical component, the metal hangers and metal rod that you hang your clothes on are really cheap, and if you plan on hanging any weight, which means several items or winter wear items don't purchase these bags. The specifications talk about the...

Read the full review >
Natural Cotton Hanging Storage Bags is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 90.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If only... I now have 3 of these, and the hangers are not strong enough, and the hardware inside the bags at the top are not strong enough - the metal pieces always end up bending and then the clothes all fall together and get all wrinkled. It would be so easy to make these things sturdier! Now, before I hang my clothes in these, I get a thick piece of wire from the hardware store and reinforce the wimpy, bendable metal hardware that it comes with. I shouldn’t have to do that, especially not at these prices!
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT for Autumn & Winter Storage If you only need to store light and flowy gowns then this may work for you. If you need to store heavier leather and wool items then keep looking. I put 4 men’s short leather coats inside the bag and it collapsed. The hangers they use for the closet rod are so flimsy that they cannot hold any real weight. Sure, there is enough space to hang many jackets and coats but the hangers cannot even support FOUR coats!
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great storage bags I bought another Natural Cotton Hanging Storage Bag for a couple of new blazers and dress pants I bought recently. I already had two of them, which have kept my clothes in perfect condition. Since the cotton allows it to "breathe", that helps to keep my dress clothes not only clean but also odor-free. I had experience using clear plastic bags years ago, and found the contents didn't stay fresh at all like they do in those made of cotton. I'm also pleased The Container Store offers them in three sizes, which I find reasonably priced.
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love this product! It’s great to store winter cloths and very easy to assemble!
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great design and quality I didn't spend a lot of time comparing cotton bags, I simply knew I wanted to get my jackets out of the plastic bags from a lot of the clothing stores... These bags are well made of good weight cloth, the zipper goes all the way to the top (so no gap for moths to crawl in). There are 3 hooks which go through the bag and are attached to a zig zag bar to place your hangers on inside the bag, That somewhat restricts the qty of items you can hang inside the bag, but I'm not certain I could have fit any more items in the bag anyway. I agree with other reviews the paperboard they give you to put in the bottom is on the cheap side, but I will likely cut a piece of 1/8" plywood to size and then be able to oil it with cedar oil -or- another moth repellent oil. I did take bits of poster putty (used to hang posters on walls) and formed it around the 3 hangers which protrude out the top to seal up the holes so moths couldn't crawl in them. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Moths go away I worry that moths might be lerking in my closet. I like that I have been able to ward them off by keeping my garments in these breathable canvas bags.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have found none better The fabric is substantial yet soft. Quality Construction. I have tried to find garment bags and these are absolutely the best. Some others haven't been half as good and yet cost as much. I stocked up and got 6 at the Container Store because I got them on sale for 20% off! Great deal!
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely pleased I am very happy I make this expenditure. I am pleased with all aspects of the items.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great investment The cotton suit hanger fits a lot of clothing and keeps it protected. It's a great investment for any closet.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good product, but shrinks This is a sturdy, nice looking product. However, after a few years I decided to wash it. It shrunk to about 60% of its prewash size and one of the grommets for a hanger hook came out. I am buying a replacement, but remember, do not wash these,
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Cotton Storage Bags Love these natural cotton storage bags which provide great cover for dust & pollen during the summer months. My clothes smell fresh & are easy to access with the tasselled zipper. I bought two - maybe will get more.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Fur The largest size fit perfectly for my mid calf length fur and keeps it fresh all through the season.
Date published: 2015-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I bought two to store my out of season clothes to keep dust off and to keep closet neat. They are very sturdy and hold quite a lot. I may need to get more. I recommend these to anyone.
Date published: 2015-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good hanging storage bag I ordered this bag to store hanging clothes in our vacation apartment. The bag is well constructed and very roomy. It comes with three hanger hooks and a bar inside on which I have added my own hangers. I like that the garment bag is cotton and can "breathe" and the clothes hanging inside are easy to access. I gave four instead of five stars because the cardboard piece that goes into the base is flimsy. The bag still keeps its shape but I think over time having a very sturdy base at the bottom would help it retain its shape.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Storage and very nicely finished put the cedar in the floor of the bag and put all of my silk and wools, fur coat and cottons in them, it really neats up the closet and keeps my clothes dust and moth free, hurray!
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This product does everything the description says it will...PLUS...it makes my closets look so much neater. It is so nice to open up those closet doors and see everything clean and neat.
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully Clean Looking Suit Storage I recently bought 2 of the suit storage bags and boy am I glad I did. I was tired of looking at suits and sports coats just hanging in plastic bags. I was doing some spring cleaning and wanted to re-vamp our closet and brought these home. Super easy to put up and I just love the look. it keeps everything in place and nice and neat looking and now all I see is this natural looking storage bag and not a bunch of suits on hangers. As of right now, I have 4 suits (pants & jackets) hanging inside one storage bag and 4 sports coats hanging in the other. I would highly recommend these over the plastic bag type storage bags. It just neatened everything up...so happy with this purchase and I even got them on sale, which allowed me to splurge on others items from the Container Store....which I absolutely love!
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good option; always room for improvement I bought three of the suit bags and three of the dress bags for long-term storage in our attic. I held out on buying these until they went on sale. The assembly was fairly straightforward but the bottom frame is just a piece of cardboard -- had hoped for something more sturdy. Some suggestions for the manufacturer: - Reconsider the design of the interior hanging rack. Make grooves more defined. - Replace cardboard bottom frame with something less flimsy. - Consider adding spaces for label inserts. Maybe a plastic sleeve on each side so I can insert labels describing the contents. I have more than one of these in the attic. - Maybe add a clear PEVA window to one or two sides (Front & Rear?) of the bag. That way you get the best of breathable cotton and the visibility of clear plastic. I've been struggling to organize my closet for years and these are helping me immensely. Overall, I'm pleased with my purchase. It is like having several mini wardrobes.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever I have been waiting for the semi-annual sale to purchase the longest hanging bag so I could store my winter leather coats and long winter dresses and gowns. I could not be happier with my purchase!!
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great product. Best choice for storage leather jackets to allow the leather to breathe. Excellent quality. Light-weight for easy closet storage.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Hanging Storage Bag Coats fit perfectly in this bag for summer storage.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice storage solution for out of season items The bag itself is very nice, sturdy and well made. The hanging rod inside is a little flimsy, but has held up to my winter coats with no problems. Add the cedar drawer liners to the bottom!
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So impressed, I had to get two more! Don't be fooled into buying other garment bags. I think these are the best around and worth the money. I already had one and decided I needed more. After looking at what was available in my area, I ordered two more online at The Container Store. Really like how these garment bags keep the dust off those less-used clothes in my closet. Would love it if you opened The Container Store in my area.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hanging Storage Bag Heavy Cotton construction and very good quality. Lets the coats breath but keeps them dust free.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Natural Cottom Hanging Storage Bags This storage bag is a great option for storing and keeping formal wear protected. Clothes can breathe while dust can't settle on the garments. I added a hanging cedar block to promote well-being of the garments.
Date published: 2014-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Attic Storage Bags Just received my 3 Natural Cotton Hanging Storage Bags. They were very easy to assemble. Perfect for keeping dust and bugs away from off season clothing in an unheated, ventilated attic. Very easy to load (clothes go in on hangers) and unload again. I didn't buy the longest one as I don't store gowns in the attic. Delighted with my purchase, they are just what I was looking for.
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for what I bought it for! I bought this storage bag not for clothes, but to hang my special hand-made Christmas ornaments for storage until next year. I wanted something breathable - so not plastic or vinyl - that would allow them to be hung up and keep them dust-free. This bag is the perfect size and construction!
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I need I purchased two hanging suitbags to store my off-season and/or seldom worn jackets and slacks. It keeps them dust free and out of my main closet. I had a full length cotton garment bag, and the bottom portion was unused. It lasted for at least 10 years until I washed it. It shrank enough that it would not fit back on the frame. I recommend replacement rather than washing!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It Shrinks When Washed!!! Unfortunately, and much to my surprise, when I washed the "Natural Cotton Hanging Storage Bag," which I had for several years, it shrunk and no longer fit the brace that held it up--very, very disappointing!! If you think you'll need to wash it, don't buy it. Otherwise, it was very, very serviceable.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so good The bag itself is very good, but the bar that it hangs from is weak and hard to manage. The hooks are not set in place, so keeping this bag from tipping requires balancing all the contents. I would not purchase this item again.
Date published: 2013-10-01
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_90
  • loc_, sid_10000083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore