< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Canvas Clothes Closet

Overall Rating: 3.9 out of 5

Canvas Clothes Closet

Canvas Clothes Closet

Overall Rating: 3.9 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Canvas Clothes Closet

Most helpful top-rated review

23 of 24 people found this review helpful

Great choice!
5 out of 5

We have a built a new home and now actually have a nice storage room in our garage/basement. We had planned on making it look quite presentable with shelving and storage for off-season clothing. We saw this Canvas Clothes Closet and purchased it. It was easy to put together and has a very nice look (especially compared to some of the plastic-y...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

49 of 50 people found this review helpful

flimsy
2 out of 5

I purchased 2 of these closets because they seemed magnificent for off season wear. They were easy to assemble and attractive. They were also flimsy and tipped sideways or fell over when I hung an average amount of clothing inside. They would be great for light items or possibly children's clothing. I returned both of them and purchased a much...

Read the full review >
Canvas Clothes Closet is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does its job! I got this closet as a temporary thing and its holding up well! I'm happy with it
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What I needed. It was easy to assemble. I needed closet space in garage and this works for keeping shirts and coats clean and hung instead of folded.
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from flimsy I purchased 2 of these closets because they seemed magnificent for off season wear. They were easy to assemble and attractive. They were also flimsy and tipped sideways or fell over when I hung an average amount of clothing inside. They would be great for light items or possibly children's clothing. I returned both of them and purchased a much more heavy duty system.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disapointing I bought this closet about a year ago and slowly over time the stability of this closet has gone down hill. It a bit cumbersome to get into daily and now the poles are twisting with the weight inside. This is made of plastic so it just does not hold any weight. I would not recommend this item especially with how much it costs.
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Canvas Clothes Closet The reason this item did not get rated excellent was because the product will begin to lean forward after a few days. The solution: place thumb tacks on the inside back panel sticking it to the wall. I am not sure how long it will last that way, so that will tell with time.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from handy rolling closet Great for storage anywhere or to use for extra space.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I need This is a good product for a reasonable price ($49 on sale). It went together easily. The instructions are clear. It seems like it will hold regular clothing just fine. Not sure it would be sturdy enough for all winter clothing/coats to be stored. I like that it is completely enclosed, including the bottom.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If you need an extra closet get something else I purchased this because my current apartment doesn't have a closet in the main bedroom and because I didn't have enough hanging space for both my clothing and my husband's clothing. While this was easy to assemble, this is not strong enough to hold a good amount of clothing. It lasted about a year and the rod started to bend during that year. If you are purchasing it to store a small amount of clothing it might be worth it, but do not overload the rod or it will bend. I decided to spend the extra money on the Metro Garment rack and that has suited my purpose much better.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected :) I had read so many reviews about different wardrobes at different stores that I decided to spend a little more and get this one. First off, you only need one person and no tools to put this together. That's a huge plus. The only thing I would have done to give it the all maximum 5 stars is little wheels. But, then again, I have no complaints. I'm hanging more clothes in this than I had originally thought possible. For the price, it's good quality, and if I ever need another one, then I'm getting the very same one.
Date published: 2012-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for price! My current apartment has very few closets so this purchase has been a huge help! It is perfect, easy to set up, easy to use, protects clothes, it is slightly wobbly but that is expected and not at all a problem. I have it filled to capacity and it is holding it all just fine. (Also storing things on top, and its not bowing or anything)
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good enough Package is small and light weight enough to carry with ease. Once opened, it was easy to put together by myself. Overall, it's a bit flimsy, but gets the job done. I'm using it for off-season clothes storage. The top bar is not strong enough to support heavy boxes, but sturdy enough to hold two hat boxes. Wasn't expecting too much from this, so am satisfied.
Date published: 2011-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works I have limited closet space and limited space in a city apartment. I have too many clothes....so I went online and checked out what Container store had to offer. I read the reviews...there were good and bad but I decided to try it regardless. It was SO easy to put together (by myself with no issue) and although it feels a bit flimsy...it's actually doing the job well! You have to balance the clothes (don't put all the heavy on one side, etc). I used it to pack dresses and suits (the height is perfect for that) and so far I love it! If you are going to stuff this thing full of heavy winter clothes then I would suggest paying more for something else.
Date published: 2011-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good, but not as sturdy as I had hoped Relatively easy to put together (did it by myself and I'm not the type!). Great for extra closet and clean storage. I filled it up and put bags in the bottom and set a few items on top of it when I was trying on some old clothes and left the house....when I got back the whole thing had toppled over and came apart. one of corner pieces where the vertical rod goes in broke. it was able to be put back together and seems to be fine despite the broken corner, but I will not put anything in bottom or ever set anything on top - it's not that sturdy...but it is still an economical and decent option for extra storage.
Date published: 2011-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality Cover I purchased this closet for the cover. It is heavy canvas and fit over the InterMetro garment rack perfectly. I had to cut off the "floor" of the cover to make it work, but it fits like a glove. Access is easy because of the zipper placement. I wish there were straps to secure the door flap when it's open. I can't rate the frame and the hanging bar because they are still in the box. I may use it in the laundry room. Another wonderful experience with the Container Store :)
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DONT BUY THIS ITEM!!!! I bought this storage unit because I wanted a safe place to store my winter coats. Within weeks, one side was pitching forward and the plastic bars that hold the metal hang bar are bent beyond belief. There is NOTHING to support the hang bar. The only reason it hasnt fallen to the floor yet is because I have a large television propped in front of it. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GET SOMETHING ELSE!
Date published: 2010-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Storage!! Easy to assemble, I keep all my out of season clothes down in the basement in these canvas clothes closets. I purchased one for my clothes and one for my husbands. Great deal.
Date published: 2010-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for storage Great storage closet for my basement and very easy to put together.
Date published: 2010-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extra safe hanging clothes storage I purchased about eight of these several years ago to place in my walk-in attic to store seasonal clothes. I placed cedar blocks (bought at Container Store, naturally!) on the floor of each one to protect my woolens. These have just been the perfect answer to my extra-SAFE storage needs; I would highly recommend them.
Date published: 2010-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent purchase easy assembly of a functional and attractive product
Date published: 2010-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Might return it! Assembly is incredibly frustrating due to very poor construction. Wheels would b a nice feature but on this particular item would probably cause it to fall apart while moving.
Date published: 2010-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great closet This closet is extremely easy to assemble. The directions suggest that two people are needed but I put it together easily by myself. Two comments: first, there are no wheels on this closet and second, there is no center support for the pole. Both of these are available on the other closet, with the plastic cover. I think the plastic closet is also little bigger, though the canvas closet is taller. If you could combine these qualities in one closet, it would be perfect: canvas cover, taller, center support for the pole and wheels!
Date published: 2010-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Repeatedly fell apart during assembly I purchased this garment closet for my new home, which is big on period charm, but small on closet space. My mother and I spent 20 minutes trying to assemble this closet, but it kept falling apart. It is supposed to just snap together with no hardware- we never got past the base and the first set of side poles. Whenever it moved even slightly, one of the poles in the base would come loose and we'd have to start over. Realizing the futility of this exercise, we finally just gave up and needless to say, the closet is now in the process of being returned. Don't waste your time with this one- spend the money on a more expensive- and substantial- closet.
Date published: 2010-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to add closet space This closet is great. I don't like dressers and keeping clothes folded, so I replaced an old dresser with this closet. It was pretty easy to assemble and added so much hanging space for a great price. The canvas color and texture is nice because it's not an eye sore by any means. Awesome product!
Date published: 2010-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! We needed extra closet space and bought these and they totally fit the bill! They were very easy to put together and hold plenty of clothes.
Date published: 2010-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Does The Job I needed additional space to store winter clothes in the summer and summer clothes in the winter. I ordered two of the Canvas Clothes Closets. This item is easy to assemble. At first I was a bit concerned because the closet seemed like it might not hold a lot of weight on the hangar bar, but I loaded it with sports coats, pants and shirts and it held up just fine. I'm glad that I made this purchase.
Date published: 2010-03-22
  • y_2017, m_5, d_17, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_, sid_10000194, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore