< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Umbra Bungee Over the Door Towel Rack

Overall Rating: 4.1 out of 5

Overdoor Towel Rack

Umbra Bungee Over the Door Towel Rack

Overall Rating: 4.1 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Overdoor Towel Rack

Most helpful top-rated review

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Perfect solution for small spaces.
5 out of 5

We have a tiny older home. The bathroom is tiny, as is the bathroom door. Other over-the-door towel racks are just too big. There is no room for an extra holder for a hand towel. This rack solved the problem perfectly. I adjusted the bars so the highest is only waist-high. We use that bar for a hand towel, the second one is a spare, and the lowest...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

21 of 24 people found this review helpful

not for those who care about appearances...
2 out of 5

this towel rack is useful and effective, seemed sturdy and definitely fit well on my door, however it looks MUCH different in person. in the online photos it looks modern, sleek and attractive, in person it looks like two bungie cords my dad would use to attach something to the roof of his car. also, the way that it attaches has the metal pieces...

Read the full review >
Umbra Bungee Over the Door Towel Rack is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 85.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good solution for tall doors I've always been a fan of over-the-door hooks, racks, etc. But when I moved into my new house, which has 8-foot tall doors, I could no longer use my over-the-door towel rack for anything more than the bottom rung. This was a perfect solution for me! It stretches to fit the giant door, but is adjustable so I can reach the towels. I'm very happy with this.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clever Space Saver I bought this for my son's dorm room. It was installed in a snap. It will not work well for heavy towels like beach towels but for your average bath towel, it's an excellent solution.
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh. Looks great on display at the store, but it is the only thing that I haven't loved from the Container Store. Looked too "dormy" but if your purpose is a dorm room and not a stylist condo, then this might work for you. Was hard to install. Not a lot of room for towels. I returned it.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Renters This towel rack is perfect for our apartment. We are unable to put holes in our wall to hang racks, shelving, etc. so this works perfectly. Couldn't be happier with the design and ease of installation.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I have a small bathroom and this is a huge space saver! My children use the two lowest bars and I use the top. Price was great and I love the way it went up (no tools!). Fantastic product!
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver for small and popular bathroom I installed this (easily!) in our small downstairs bathroom that is unfortunately my sons' place to shower in the morning. Now the boys can see their towels and I can replace the used towel onto a rung, and save having to wash it for another time. It's great for the person who moves frequently, or anyone with a small bathroom who wishes for a place to hang towels.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't have done it any different... I love this bungee overdoor towel rack. I have them on all of my full bathrooms. They help if you have towels for display purposes only and need something that is functional, yet out of sight and out of the way. My Dad liked it so much, he had me purchase one for his bathroom! LOVE IT!
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Innovative, Fun Organizer This Bungee Towel Rack is one of my favorites: it's a one-size-fits-most doors and a great space-saving solution! Not only is it useful, but it's also kinda fun! I really like moving the rods up (or down) the bungee cords. It can be easily mounted without any tools! It's the perfect upgrade from the regular over-door hangers with hooks!
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best money spent 2013 I have a small 2nd full bath and this product is great. Holds towels, hand towels and wash cloth perfectly. Also holds my clothes till I'm ready to leave the bathroom , will buy again. Makes great gift.even have one in our rv.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scarf Saver I actually asked for something to organize my scarves. I had them piled on an over-the-door multi pronged hanger and they were hard to see in the piles. I wasn't sure how this would work because the scarves might drag on floor. Because the rods are movable I could position them higher and knot each scarf onto rod. I arranged them by colors per rod and they now cover the back of a door to the bathroom area. I can actually pick out a scarf cause I can see them.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product This is a great, practical product. It is so versatile, you can use it for more than just towels and adjust it to meet your needs.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So convenient with multiple uses We're getting ready for a group of friends/family to visit, and we needed extra towel hooks or bars. This can be easily dismantled and stored. It's also great for hanging baby & toddler clothing and baby blankets and burp cloths so that they are easily accessible and visible.
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for RVs We bought this for our trailer and it is perfect! We had no towel racks and no wall space for a towel bar. This solved our problem and no holes had to be made in the door.
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs better towel bars This could be a great product for more towel space....however, the towel bars constantly come out from the ends... so, you have to lightly touch the bars so that they don't come out from the ends. Kinda painstaking!!
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been great Great idea and it seems decently constructed. Unfortunately I cannot close the door with the rack on it. A redesign with a slimmer top might make this a must-have. Until then, I'll keep trying other brands.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from nice idea,but... Had to send back. Does fit over door,but cannot shut bathroom door. So beware in purchasing this product! Cost me half as much of this product to ship back.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! Bought this overdoor towel rack for my husband as I have had one for several years and had difficulty finding it again. We really like this product. Made my husband super happy!!!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from container store to the rescue this was purchased for our new rv....we hang up our towels to dry since we have minimal laundry facilities when we travel...this will allow us to hang them over the bathroom door...we will not have to take it down when we travel!!
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome item This item is as fantastic as I wanted it to be. It was fairly easy to install. I say fairly only because I'm short and the top of the door is just a little to tall for me. I like that you can adjust the bars, and it will stretch to fit. I keep mine in the closet to hold the beach towels.
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Overdoor Towel Rack on the Market I have an old house that has thin hollow doors and couldn't find anything that would work in my bathroom. This is stylish and works perfectly. Have used other racks and they are bulky and bang door and walls when you move the door. Recommend to anyone that wants a great solutions and doesn't want to mark up there surroundings.
Date published: 2013-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed This is a great idea if you never plan to close your bathroom door. I installed this easily over the door, hung my towels and shut the door. OUch. The hooks scratched up my brand new doorframe, as the door would barely close without effort. It's too costly to ship back for a return. To Goodwill it goes....
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for standard door. Kids can't reach top rung. The rack did not fit our narrower door that leads to a bedroom, with the bungee type cord hitting the door knob. It did fit the standard door that led to the hall. But, we already had a towel bar on the wall behind the open door. The towel on the wall and the one on the door would squish up against each other and not dry very well. We had purchased it to help our smaller kids hang their towels up. When the rungs were lowered enough without having the towels hit the ground, the top rung was essentially useless.
Date published: 2013-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Space-saving Tool! We occasionally have overnight guests, but never wanted to put towel bars up in the spare bathroom. This product totally saved our walls! Super-easy to install. Perfect for what we needed. Great purchase--very happy.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect solution for small spaces. We have a tiny older home. The bathroom is tiny, as is the bathroom door. Other over-the-door towel racks are just too big. There is no room for an extra holder for a hand towel. This rack solved the problem perfectly. I adjusted the bars so the highest is only waist-high. We use that bar for a hand towel, the second one is a spare, and the lowest one became a magazine rack!! That configuration leaves the hook on the back of the door usable for a robe etc. while showering.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the towel rack Easy to put up and very cool design! Works nicely too.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neat Makes bathroom looks neat if you have more than one towel to hang. Makes door harder to close, but I think the issue is my doors and not the product. I was afraid that bungee part may get loose and hit me in the face, but that did not happen.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product!! Fit great and easy to install. So far is holding up well with weight of wet clothes/towels
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good choice Hold the towels nicely. I love that the bars are adjustable.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I like this towel rack because of it's adjustability - I do have to say that the brackets did leave marks on my door and door frame, but I think most do. All in all, I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Purchase Functional, but not the high quality of purchases normally acquired from the Container Store. The top and bottom brackets do not sit well on the door. The brackets are not really padded in any way to keep them from scratching the door finish. A word of caution when installing - the rods are not permanently affixed to the piece that holds them on the bungee cord and one popped out while my hubby was trying to adjust the top and bottom brackets and it hit me as I was helping him. Also, if your door has a lever handle, the rack may be a little too wide and the bungee may be up against the door handle. Rods are easy to adjust and it hold towels well.
Date published: 2013-07-01
  • y_2017, m_6, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_85
  • loc_, sid_10015551, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_containerstore