< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

simplehuman® 13 gal. Rectangle Step Can

Overall Rating: 4.9 out of 5

simplehuman® 13 gal. Rectangle Step Can

simplehuman® 13 gal. Rectangle Step Can

Overall Rating: 4.9 out of 5

Customer Reviews

simplehuman® 13 gal. Rectangle Step Can

Most helpful top-rated review

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

worth every penny
5 out of 5

I was a little doubtful about buying this at first because, well, let's face it, it does seem like a lot of money to spend on something that will hold trash. But I went through with it because I finally have a nice apartment and didn't want to struggle with unsightly trashcan messes like i have in the past. now, i knew this was a nice...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

There are no reviews that fit this criteria.

simplehuman® 13 gal. Deluxe Rectangle Step Can 4.9 5 33 33
Rockstar trashcan In a perfect world, the trash can would be tucked out of sight in a cabinet. However, our kitchen being what it is, we couldn't afford the space. This product was a nice compromise. What is great about it is the rectangular shape fits more than a circular can and easily sits against a wall. It is simple in design and attractive, for a trash can. The closing mechanism is silent, slow, and smooth, a and the bag can tuck in and not be seen, which is nice. Overall, an excellent purchase that makes our kitchen just a little classier. March 20, 2012
Great trash can Does everything it says on the box! Quiet, easy to use, doesn't mark and no odors. Ideal size to not have to empty too frequently. Will fit regular 13 gal trash bags September 4, 2014
Great product It has worked great for the space we needed it! Keeps the trash smell enclosed. April 25, 2014
Love this trashcan It's not only sleek, but also very useful! It's quiet, looks great, and has trash bags that are made for the can so they fit perfectly. This is my favorite Container Store purchase to date! April 24, 2014
Great purchase This is a great trash can. It fits perfectly against our island in the kitchen. The lid is a soft close - no noise. March 25, 2014
very good purchase good quality, durable, great addition to our kitchen March 5, 2014
GREAT GARBAGE CAN I love my new garbage can. I find the square shape much easier to fit into my Manhattan kitchen. It can stand neatly against a wall or any straight edge. The opening mechanism is eay to use. March 1, 2014
Simplehuman Trash Can I absolutely love this trash container. The automatic lid closes slow to allow access to free your hands and to deposit trash items into the container. It also has a step to set the trash can up for easier bag removal and loading. I also love the fingerprint proof finish. April 15, 2013
Awesome Trashcan! I love this trash can! It is large and spacious. I feel like it holds so much more and much more accommodating for the space I have vs my old trash can. I also purchased the filter for the inside of the can and highly recommend that as well ... best purchase yet from the container store!! March 20, 2013
Love this thing We are going on year 5 (or maybe 6) for our trashcan and it still looks brand new. I love that we always have perfectly fitted bags (order the case size, cheaper and usually free shipping) that hold everything we throw at them. We wipe it down with a stainless steel cleaner about once a month and I found that if you start getting small rust spots (got them on my Jennair oven also) you can use something called Barkeepers friend which has a bit of cleanser in it. Put a bit on a wet sponge and use small circular motion on spots. They come right off and it looks new again. I take the can outside every few months and hose it off, it dries great and is ready to go again! Have bought a second one of these for the laundry room...they will last forever. March 18, 2013
A kitchen trash can that lasts! I have gone through many trash cans in the kitchen and this is the best! I love the tab to keep the top open and the small foot step. It also stays clean on the outside and looks great when you do clean it (no smears). Perfect size. Worth the extra bucks! March 18, 2013
The best trash can ever I do not even have a count of how many trash receptacles I have been through. I can tell you the simple human will be the last. Even after my trashcan has gone past the normal life usage, I will just go buy another simple human can. I will always look for the simple human brand for other kitchen and bath products, etc. the products is without a doubt a well designed, long lasting product. If you don't have one, buy one immediately. March 18, 2013
Stylish Can Nice and sleek looking, slow close is a nice feature. This can is definitely bigger in person than it looks online and you kind of have to stretch 13 gallon bags to fit in it. Fits perfectly under a counter where we needed to put it. February 1, 2013
Worth the price Decent value for the price. We got this for the kitchen because we wanted a garbage bin that securely closed to discourage pets and keep the smell to a minimum. November 26, 2012
Great Step Can! We love this step can! It doesn't show fingerprints, opens and closes easily and quietly, holds tons of garbage, and looks stylish. There is a way to hold the lid open if you need to for as long as you want. So much better than the average kitchen trash can May 3, 2012
Great Recycling Container This container is a good value. I only wish that the paper side was a bit bigger. April 27, 2012
Beautiful, fingerprint free Gorgeous, quiet, perfect garbage can, sits nicely against wall with low profile April 21, 2012
tidy house I live in a small studio apartment with limited space and a kitchenette inside the living area/bedroom. This keeps the trash hidden, bugs away and I no foul smells coming out of the trash. I highly recommend this product. It's also sleek and indiscrete. April 8, 2012
I resisted because of price, but I love it now. My husband, who hardly ever wants anything for the kitchen, saw this garbage can at a friend's house and asked me to pick one up. He liked how sleek it looked and how much bigger and more convenient it would be than our smaller one under the sink, out of sight where I like it. But, I grudgingly bought it and found it a spot in the kitchen. Now, a few months later, I find myself loving the larger size and it does look pretty good, stays clean and really is much more convenient. Guess I should take his recommendations more often. Sssh, don't tell him I said that. March 20, 2012
great practicality n a good accent in the kitchen It does exactly as described, faithfully and quietly for 3+ yrs. I don't always have time to clean the inside of the lid. So over 3 years the moisture inside the can did result a slight rust on the inside of the lid. Other than that, the recycle compartment could be bigger. But then I do like how perfectly sized the entire trash can is, and would be hesitant to see it gets wider than it already is. Beautiful trash can and it's very practical. March 20, 2012
awesome Never thought I would be so impressed with a trash can. It is so wonderful. More expensive than its plastic counterparts but well worth every penny. I had a different stainless one before and dispised it because of fingerprints and the way it opened and closed. This one is so easy and perfect :) buy one. You'll thank me. March 19, 2012
I will never have to buy another Trash Can This trash can is great. It is easy to clean and matches our kitchen perfectly. Our child can open the trash can with ease and without spilling what she is trying to throw away. You will save money in the long run because this is the last time you will have to buy a trash can. This is what I call money well spent. March 19, 2012
Love this trashcan! It's kinda silly to say I love my trashcan, but I do!! Splurged on this when I bought my house and almost 6 years later it is still going strong. I would highly recommend to anyone! March 19, 2012
Still great 8 years later This has never failed in 8 years of use, including having cats who use it as a perch. The mechanism is still as smooth as day one, and the finish is easy to maintain. I just use all-purpose cleaner on it every time I take out the trash. Regular 13-gallon bags do fit very snugly over the lip of the liner; you do have to stretch them a bit. February 29, 2012
Excellent quality We purchased this trash can for a busy kitchen at our office. The entire staff loves it and many have asked where we purchased it and how could they get one for their home. The quality is excellent and the closing lid is so quite. Tight lid keeps the odors out! We highly recommend this trash can for home or office use. February 23, 2012
Love It! If you're stalling about ordering this can because of the price - don't waste any more time! Just order it! It's lovely! My regular 13 gallon bags fit wonderfully and we are wasting less of them because now we are able to fill them up completely. I believe I'm saving money on bags cuz with my last can, I could only fill the bag halfway. The can is stylish and works well with my big family. It's very easy to empty and is odor free. Go ahead ~ treat yourself ~ you deserve it! January 9, 2012
Rectangular step can This rectangular step can is wonderful. There is no loud "bang" when the lid closes. The bags are very easy to change. I am very pleased with this purchase. It is sturdy and attractive. November 26, 2011
SO glad I bought this step can!!! First of all, it really is very stylish and substantial looking. Looks great in my kitchen. Having a lid that always closes means that the smells from food debris do not permeate the kitcken. The features all work very well and I especially like the little rest for holding the wastebasket in a position where it is easy to remove and replace the plastic liner. There was a bag with three free samples of the liners that go with this step can. Those are great and fit snugly. I will order these and use them. It was smart to provide a few complimentary bags because I might not have tried them and wouldn't have known how well they fit and work. I'm so happy that I bought this. It solves all my trash needs in the kitchen. October 7, 2011
I'm in love with a trashcan I realize it's odd to love a trashcan, but I truly love this one. I used to use a trashbag on the kitchen floor to store trash, but decided I needed an upgrade. This can looks awesome in my kitchen. The spring in the pedal step is fantastic - it doesn't fly open and crash into anything. The lock-open feature is awesome for when you are peeling veggies or something where you need it to stay open. And again, the spring on the way down eases the can shut when you are done. Heaven in a trashcan. I realize it costs an arm and a leg, but I was willing to shell out for the life commitment that we now have. October 2, 2011
Great Trash Can This trash can is excellent. Not only is it great looking in the kitchen but it really allows you to maximize the use of the trash bag. Our last can only utilized about 3/4 of the bag but this one uses every square inch. The only issue I ran into so far is stretching the bag around the rim of the internal container. I ripped one bag trying to stretch it into place. June 13, 2011
2 next>>