< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Large Driftwood Vario Stacking Shelf

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5

Large Driftwood Vario Stacking Shelf

Large Driftwood Vario Stacking Shelf

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Large Driftwood Vario Stacking Shelf

Most helpful top-rated review

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Store Vinyl LPs
4 out of 5

If you still own, or are just getting into the revival of 12" LPs, these shelves work great. I am using the wide units for this purpose in a way that provides some extra strength, due to the weight of the vinyl. I do not install the feet on the bottoms of the shelves and I also remove the the plastic inserts, meant to align with those feet,...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

There are no reviews that fit this criteria.

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly What I Needed These pieces are awesome! They are very well constructed and easy to assemble. I have never put anything together so easily or confidently. I needed some bookshelves after moving to my new place, but didn't want to spend too much money, but also didn't want something that would fall apart. These are sturdy and I love the fact that they stack up and will be easy to transport in the future. I can also add on new pieces when needed. May 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Vinyl Storage Hubby and I are loving the vinyl revival and have been adding to our decades old record collection. The Large Vario stacking shelves are the perfect size to hold our albums stylishly and keep them easy to access. We bought 6 and may need more! April 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the Price Just what I needed for my studio space. I put the 4 Stockhold DVD boxes and 2 CD boxes in each shelf. Does the trick. October 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality cabinet The cabinet took a while to arrive (or maybe it was just my anticipation), but it was very easy to assemble and sturdy. Looks good and fits perfectly in the space I needed it for (between two vanity cabinets in my bathroom). One added plus. The boards/materials came surrounded by styrofoam in the box, which protects them from being dinged/chipped in transit. Having just assembled two bookshelves from a rival store (Home Decorators) a week earlier, theirs did not and consequently, my boards on those shelves had one or two chipped spots. The Container Store packaging was much better in protecting the product. I'd recommend this little shelf unit again! August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I ordered four large shelves and two small ones. The first one took me about half an hour to put together, but after I got it down, it took about 15 minutes each. I'm very happy with the result, especially for the price. These shelves hold tons of books, are very sturdy, and look great. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the versatility These stacking shelves are fantastic! I love the fact you can personalize them and switch the configuration, if you feel like making a whole new piece of furniture. They were pretty easy to assemble and feel sturdy. The smaller cubes are the perfect size for textbooks and folders. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Store Vinyl LPs If you still own, or are just getting into the revival of 12" LPs, these shelves work great. I am using the wide units for this purpose in a way that provides some extra strength, due to the weight of the vinyl. I do not install the feet on the bottoms of the shelves and I also remove the the plastic inserts, meant to align with those feet, from the tops of the shelves,(not an easy task). By stacking these units in this manor you are effectively doubling the thickness and strength of the shelves. An even more important benefit of this slight alteration is that now the majority of the combined weight is being carried by the sides of the units and not the tops and bottoms, which due to the inbound location of the feet would cause sagging and possibly integrity issues. I have been using ten of these units stacked five high,(not the recommended four high), side by side for almost two years now with no issues what so ever. I should also mention that for stability reasons I screwed the units to each other,side to side and top to bottom. So if you have the need to store your old, or new LPs, I highly recommend these shelves. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Versatile Shelving Unit Ever I absolutely LOVE these shelves. When my daughter was a newborn I had these shelves in her nursery to display some of her keepsakes and stuffed animals. Currently, I am using them in our playroom loft as storage for my children⿿s toys. As they grow older, I plan to transform them into my shelving for my home office! What makes them even more likable is that I can arrange them in any sort of fashion that I like to fit any space. I don⿿t even have to bother my husband to help me move them. April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, fun & modern decor We really loved these after seeing them in the store and purchased them immediately. They were easy to put together and are fun to use. I was a little disappointed that some of the edges were damaged, but nothing too bad. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy and worth the price. Quick assembly and contained all parts. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great shelving unit! i love this shelving unit. it's so versatile & easy to put together. we needed additional shelving in our kitchen. these units were perfect not just to store our dishes but to show them off as well. i definitely recommend them. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Storage I'm using them for electronic component storage (DVR, etc.) and the partially open back is great for the plugs and wires. Love! April 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the versatility and style of these shelves!!! I purchased these shelves to use in my home office. They store all my office equipment and supplies in a stylish and functional manner, which is very important given the fact that the office is located right off the foyer. I would highly recommend them! April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent and Versatile Shelving We have purchased 2 small stacking shelves and 2 of the larger shelves. We use some of them in our toddler's room as her bookshelf, and some in her toy room for other storage. They are easy to assemble and allow a lot of flexibility for room design. I would definitely recommend this product. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect for everything I bought 2 large,1 small for my living room, and it fits perfectly for storing. Easy to build and strong enough to hold my heavy books. Love it! April 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I needed I needed to fill in unused space in a bathroom closet and these were the perfect size. Assembly was fairly simple, the instructions were phenomenally well put together and for the price this is actually good quality. I bought two of the smaller stacking ones and they fit perfectly together. They're even and I had no trouble with shipping. I recommend this product! March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maximum flexibility I have a lot of heavy art books and these units are small enough that I don't expect they will sag under the weight. Check the photo: heavy lamp, six months, no sag. (I don't think the wider unit would perform as well). Also useful for filing by subject. Easy to put together as long as you focus. They don't look too cheap. I like that I am able to expand my shelving capacity unit by unit as I get the money. When I move I can pick them up and carry them. If I get tired of bookshelves, they can be end tables, nightstands, cat beds. Maximum flexibility March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to put together - quality product These units are extremely functional and allow for considerable flexibility in terms of arrangement. The only downside to this item is the fact that the product labels (such as the lettering indicating which panel goes where during assembly) are made out of a paper that is almost impossible to remove without ripping and leaving sticky patches behind. I would highly recommend that the Container Store consider changing the types of labels currently used. There are easier types that exist in terms of removal. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great shelves! These shelves look great, are tall enough for coffee table books and are pretty easy to assemble. January 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Far easier to assemble than I feared After reading review after review about how difficult these shelves were to put together, I was concerned about buying them. I eventually did, but only because we have a very difficult to work with space and nothing else I found would have fit. I have to say, though, that there was nothing difficult about assembly at all. I don't know if the instruction manual has been updated or if I just got lucky with pieces that lined up well, but I assembled four of these (two small, two large) by myself in an hour or so. They seem sturdy enough and they look great. I am concerned that, being coarse particle board, they will start to sag, which is why I'm giving only 4 stars. But hey, a 4-star product is pretty much what I paid for. November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Many Design Options I liked these shelves because there are so many ways to stack them. However, it took a long time to put them together. Only basic tools are needed and it wasn't hard to figure out how to put them together but sometimes I had to force a screw into the "pre-drilled" holes which always made me nervous that I wasn't doing something right. October 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not great I bought 3 of the long ones to stack on top of each other since they seemed sturdy and stable at the store. However the color looked whitewashed at the store but at home was much whiter so doesn't look as sophisticated. It is indeed stable and sturdy for the on-sale cost I purchased it for. When inserting several parts the finish chipped off no matter how careful I was. luckily those areas don't show as they are where the sides join the top. I got what I paid for. Not worth the normal price of $45 each. October 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to put together if you take your time. I am horrible at putting things together. And when I realized that the shelves use the CAM locking system..I was annoyed because I had to return another piece of furniture (with the same CAM locking system) from another store. However, after my previous experience I took my time and I decided to examine every picture carefully. After the first shelf I felt pretty confident. If you take your time you'll be fine putting these together. October 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to put together if you take your time. I am horrible at putting things together. And when I realized that the shelves use the CAM locking system..I was annoyed because I had to return another piece of furniture (with the same CAM locking system) from another store. However, after my previous experience I took my time and I decided to examine every picture carefully. After the first shelf I felt pretty confident. If you take your time you'll be fine putting these together. October 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Assembling these = frustration! We purchased three large and three small stacking shelves. Could not complete assembling the first one, and I was not happy knowing there were 5 more to go. Called the store and asked for help and was told they could have someone come to our home and assemble them for $180 (no thank you). I asked if I came back to the store with the unit if someone could show me how to complete assembling it and was told yes, they would IF they were not busy at the time. I was there when they opened and was warmly greeted and helped by one of the associates and even he had trouble with the assembly at first. We all agreed that the instructions (pictures with no text) were not clear. Overall, spent way too much of our time dealing with these shelves. October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Building Block I bought 4 of this size and the double size to form an organized rack for my handbags. I don't see them, i don't remember what I have. Did patiently spend a whole afternoon to assemble them, worth the effort after the assembly and the cleanup. Very sturdy, substantial, and it is a sleek display. My first time, no husband around, following easy instructions to get it done. It is not that heavy, but it can be hard work to move it around once it is up. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product Easy to assemble. Also have extra screws and dowels. It is pretty sturdy. Can hold quite a good amount of things. Also stacks up pretty nicely September 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hard to assemble This is still sitting not fully assembled because the holes do not line up with the two pieces. Have had to use a mallet to try to get it together and it did not work. Wish it did because I wanted to buy more and stack them! September 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern looking spacious shelves I bought 4 of these for my sons room, to store his books, toys, and soft toys. They have great storage capacity, are easy to assemble. One of the legs on one shelf came lose right away after fixing, so i exchanged the self at the store. Also, 2 of the metal caps came off of another one, which I glued in with some elmer's glue. I was a little disappointed at first, with the two defects, but shelf #3 & #4 were perfect. Also the fit the rooms needs perfectly. S I decided to keep them. Also knowing that The Container store will stand behind their product, if it gives problems later, helped ,e make that decision. August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great item! Went together easily, seems sturdy, like the way it looks. Good price! July 22, 2013
  • 2016-07-23 T06:33:22.539-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_10035479, prod, sort_default
2 next»