< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Taupe Stackable Storage & File Drawer

Overall Rating: 4.2 out of 5

Taupe Stackable Storage & File Drawer

Taupe Stackable Storage & File Drawer

Overall Rating: 4.2 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Taupe Stackable Storage & File Drawer

Most helpful top-rated review

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

The Sweet Spot File Cabinet
4 out of 5

This product hits the sweet spot between clunky, office durability and dorm room disposability. Office-quality metal file cabinets don't look good in my home, and cheaper, more disposable file drawers and boxes may work in a dorm room but probably won't last much longer than graduation. These drawers are lightweight, reasonably...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

There are no reviews that fit this criteria.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 53 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good not Great I purchased 4 of these black Storage & File Drawers for my files as I thought they looked better than boxes. They are light, easy to assemble, and easy to move around...when empty. If you are planning to move them for any reason you will need to empty them. The front panel (front of the drawer) snaps in place but falls off very easily. January 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taupe Stackable Storage & File Drawer These drawers are more attractive than storing files in white boxes. They accommodate a lot of files. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by adequate and attractive My only issue is it does not offer a possible caster stand that could attach to the bottom so you can move the 2 stacked file drawers to vacuum or relocate. When it is loaded it is too heavy for me to lift as a senior woman. May 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid at ALL COST$ I spent over $200 on 4 of these plastic drawers, and aside form them containing my clothing, it is the biggest waste of money I've spent in a while, the face has fallen (ridge snapped off) after4 days of use. Thought it was a fluke, but then it happened to all drawers October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taupe Stackable Flie A great idea for files and looks professional. So tired of those metal file cabinets, This item can fit on a small table or a book shelf. I work at home for the first time in my life, and have a home office which is opened and looks perfect in the office.!!!! April 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Sweet Spot File Cabinet This product hits the sweet spot between clunky, office durability and dorm room disposability. Office-quality metal file cabinets don't look good in my home, and cheaper, more disposable file drawers and boxes may work in a dorm room but probably won't last much longer than graduation. These drawers are lightweight, reasonably good-looking, and durable enough to get you through a few years of daily use. I don't know of another product that finds this sweet spot. February 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good file cabinet except the front cover falls off This is a sturdy and nice looking file cabinet (I have two stacked on each other). The drawers pull smoothly and are capable of holding a lot of files. However, as another reviewer mentioned, the front cover of one of the drawers keeps detaching, making it somewhat difficult to open and close the drawer (the whole front section, which is what you pull to open the drawer, snaps on/off). The drawer is usable, but I find that I need to open it carefully so that the front section doesn't come off. Not ideal for a file drawer that you will be opening and closing frequently. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Needed a small filer for an apartment. Saw this at a Container Store. Great price, ample size. Fits at the bottom of closet. Smooth operation. So far, very happy with it. And Made in USA! April 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by file under plastic It's a sturdy plastic box with smooth slide out drawer. Buy 2, not one because they stack well. If you use just one-it can serve as as a storage bin, you will get easy visual access to items that might be hard to see/reach if low in a closet. Ideal for seniors or your favorite pack rat 20-something, organizing the paperwork that will clutter the rest if their lives. April 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect file storage for my needs I was in need of file storage for work papers that could be stored in my basement. These drawers are perfect. They are so light weight and easy to move. They are neat looking and stack/combine easily. The drawers glide easily as well. I also found they are deeper than the metal file cabinet I saw in the store and hold more files. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it I purchased the black stackable storage and file drawers to use for workout clothes and other clothing pieces that don't need to be in the dressers in my room (to free up some space). They fit nicely into my closet and provide me with the extra space that I need. They are much easier to access than an old plastic set of drawers that I had in the past. Very glad that I made this purchase. March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good product.. Good product, easy to clean, no rust problems, this is my second set of 2, and fast shipping. March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I really like these. I have four in my closet and use them to store my purses. March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality & value. Exactly what we were looking for. March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cheaply made. Great support staff These drawers were surprisingly cheaply made. I ordered four, and two were completely shattered upon arrival. Also, I don't even have them full yet, and the fronts pull off while trying to open them. To be fair though, I called the Container store, and they were EXTREMELY helpful in getting me replacements. I ordered these for the office, and I don't have time to be chasing my orders around. I may wind up gluing the fronts on so that they don't have the tendency to come off while I'm trying to open the drawers. They look as good as pictured, and fit well in our office. They're bigger than I thought, and will probably be great for storage beyond files. I would recommend these drawers with some caution. You get what you pay for. December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works quite well I bought three of the file drawers to stack in an area in my closet. I use them for work and personal items (unbeknownst to the IRS). They stack together easily and securely and they glide open smoothly. I did not want a metal file cabinet. I chose these because I am not stuck with the setup, I can detach and reattach at will. Very happy with them. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The units were perfect. They fit in with any decor . I used them to store sweaters and they held everything. It was one of the best purchases I have recently made and I plan to order more in the future. I highy recommend them. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Price is Right I bought these because I needed temporary file storage and did not want to spend what is required to buy real file drawers. But I also needed access so didn't just want file boxes. I now have six of these stacked as two three drawer file cabinets. For the price they are well made and pretty stable. I had no trouble locking the drawers stacked three high with the included tabs but I am not sure the tabs are necessary.. I have pretty much filled them with hanging files and the drawers still operate smoothly so I don't know why others had problems. I bought them in black and they look quite nice. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous They are sturdy, but I don't have to worry about them rusting if they accidentally get wet. I love that I can make it fit the space I have in my cupboard under the stairs. They are nice and streamlined without looking like a box. It holds so much more than you think it would and I feel so much more organized. A label on the front of the drawer makes it perfect! March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Purchase It was delivered in a timely manner and was just what I needed for organizing all my files. It fits in a closet, looks neat and tidy, and is easily accessible. March 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just Okay I purchased the file drawer in black while visiting the store. I'm a big fan of The Container Store products, but I was disappointed with this purchase. I transferred hanging file folders into it and now the drawer doesn't open very easily. I don't think it has too much stuff in it -- it's not even full of files. When I tried to move it, even without anything in it, the front pieces popped up. It's just cheap plastic. I wish I had tried it out before taking the tags off because I would've returned it. March 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great storage Very sturdy, the drawers glide smoothly. I bought 3 of these and stacked them. I like the versatility in the configuration. They hold much more than a traditional file cabinet. March 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy File Doors We purchased 2 of these file drawers a couple years ago and have loved them! Our files have expanded and grown so we needed more filing space. Unfortunately there is no Container Store anywhere near where we live so I tried to find something at a local store. After searching everywhere I had to order the CS File Drawers. Nothing compares so we ordered 2 more CS filing drawers. They are individual so you can move one at time but they are sturdy and strong. We have them stacked in one of our office cabinets for hidden filing. February 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Happy I purchased hese containers online after seeing them in the container store. The containers were carelessly packed and the corners on left side rear were cracked. Despite being cracked, they were still able to stack. When I transferred my files, they were toppling over and could not withstand the weight of the files. The front of the drawer keeps coming off and you have to keep snapping it on, and it kept doing that. The Container Store was very supportive and, at first, wanted to replace this order. I then told them about the sturdiness of these draws and told them not to resend the file draws as it does not suit my needs. The immediately and fortunately stopped the order and are crditing me. A very nice customer service experience. December 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy and functional I purchased this because I ran out of room in my other file cabinet. I was surprised at how sturdy it is. There are instructions to snap a piece of plastic to the back, but I wasn't able to get it to work without locking the top drawer. However, it didn't need it, the two units easily snapped together and appear stable. This was a great purchase for the price and looks good in my office. December 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great customer service We love the quality of things that we purchase at The Container Store. My daughter wanted a filing cabinet for her room, we checked the stores around us, and the drawers were cheap and I knew they would not stand up to the weight of the papers. I checked out The Container Store website, and knew that these would hold up, and I am right! When our box arrived, one of the drawers was damaged. A corner was cracked during shipping. I called and a new one was sent out and received in just a few days! :) My only problem with The Container Store, is there is not one in CT! I have to drive 1.5 hours or order on line. It's worth the trip, but please come to CT! August 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Organizing my mess Excellent method for organizing my cards, letters, financial papers - my basement is now clean and accessible - thanks to these easily stacked and filled storage and file drawers. I'd recommend them to anyone. July 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by White Premium Storage & File Drawer Very convenient. Stores a lot of hanging files. Looks good too. May 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Flimsy Front The front of this has fallen off three times in about three weeks of purchase. As long as you can get it back on, it's fine. It doesn't interfere with the functioning of the drawer other than to make it a little difficult to pull on to open. April 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Versatile file storage but front part falls off I wanted additional file storage that would be easy to move, easy to clean, and versatile (I anticipated moving several times in the next few years). I bought two of these and am pleased with their functionality. However, the front part of one of them easily falls off (which is important since I need the front part to connect so I can open the drawer). The drawer can still be pulled open should the front part break, but even the small amount of extra effort to get the drawer to open without the front part falling off can be annoying. March 19, 2012
  • 2016-02-07 T07:52:30.596-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_53, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_10036523, prod, sort_default
2 next»