x
 

Black Stackable Storage & File Drawer

Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Black Stackable Storage & File Drawer

Most helpful top-rated review

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Perfect Filing Drawer
4 out of 5

If you want something that looks nice and is easy to use...this is the filing cabinet for you! I stack them three tall and they latch together with a "spine" to keep it from tilting. This is the least expensive way to file your items away!

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Just Okay
2 out of 5

I purchased the file drawer in black while visiting the store. I'm a big fan of The Container Store products, but I was disappointed with this purchase. I transferred hanging file folders into it and now the drawer doesn't open very easily. I don't think it has too much stuff in it -- it's not even full of files. When I tried to...

Read the full review >
Black Stackable Storage & File Drawer 4.3 5 20 20
Good file cabinet except the front cover falls off This is a sturdy and nice looking file cabinet (I have two stacked on each other). The drawers pull smoothly and are capable of holding a lot of files. However, as another reviewer mentioned, the front cover of one of the drawers keeps detaching, making it somewhat difficult to open and close the drawer (the whole front section, which is what you pull to open the drawer, snaps on/off). The drawer is usable, but I find that I need to open it carefully so that the front section doesn't come off. Not ideal for a file drawer that you will be opening and closing frequently. April 13, 2014
Easy to use Needed a small filer for an apartment. Saw this at a Container Store. Great price, ample size. Fits at the bottom of closet. Smooth operation. So far, very happy with it. And Made in USA! April 13, 2014
Love it I purchased the black stackable storage and file drawers to use for workout clothes and other clothing pieces that don't need to be in the dressers in my room (to free up some space). They fit nicely into my closet and provide me with the extra space that I need. They are much easier to access than an old plastic set of drawers that I had in the past. Very glad that I made this purchase. March 22, 2014
Great quality & value. Exactly what we were looking for. March 5, 2014
The Price is Right I bought these because I needed temporary file storage and did not want to spend what is required to buy real file drawers. But I also needed access so didn't just want file boxes. I now have six of these stacked as two three drawer file cabinets. For the price they are well made and pretty stable. I had no trouble locking the drawers stacked three high with the included tabs but I am not sure the tabs are necessary.. I have pretty much filled them with hanging files and the drawers still operate smoothly so I don't know why others had problems. I bought them in black and they look quite nice. March 24, 2013
Good Purchase It was delivered in a timely manner and was just what I needed for organizing all my files. It fits in a closet, looks neat and tidy, and is easily accessible. March 11, 2013
Just Okay I purchased the file drawer in black while visiting the store. I'm a big fan of The Container Store products, but I was disappointed with this purchase. I transferred hanging file folders into it and now the drawer doesn't open very easily. I don't think it has too much stuff in it -- it's not even full of files. When I tried to move it, even without anything in it, the front pieces popped up. It's just cheap plastic. I wish I had tried it out before taking the tags off because I would've returned it. March 2, 2013
Sturdy and functional I purchased this because I ran out of room in my other file cabinet. I was surprised at how sturdy it is. There are instructions to snap a piece of plastic to the back, but I wasn't able to get it to work without locking the top drawer. However, it didn't need it, the two units easily snapped together and appear stable. This was a great purchase for the price and looks good in my office. December 18, 2012
great customer service We love the quality of things that we purchase at The Container Store. My daughter wanted a filing cabinet for her room, we checked the stores around us, and the drawers were cheap and I knew they would not stand up to the weight of the papers. I checked out The Container Store website, and knew that these would hold up, and I am right! When our box arrived, one of the drawers was damaged. A corner was cracked during shipping. I called and a new one was sent out and received in just a few days! :) My only problem with The Container Store, is there is not one in CT! I have to drive 1.5 hours or order on line. It's worth the trip, but please come to CT! August 24, 2012
Flimsy Front The front of this has fallen off three times in about three weeks of purchase. As long as you can get it back on, it's fine. It doesn't interfere with the functioning of the drawer other than to make it a little difficult to pull on to open. April 22, 2012
Versatile file storage but front part falls off I wanted additional file storage that would be easy to move, easy to clean, and versatile (I anticipated moving several times in the next few years). I bought two of these and am pleased with their functionality. However, the front part of one of them easily falls off (which is important since I need the front part to connect so I can open the drawer). The drawer can still be pulled open should the front part break, but even the small amount of extra effort to get the drawer to open without the front part falling off can be annoying. March 19, 2012
great in all ways I work out of my house, sell advertising & always have lots of paper. These are perfect, I have them stacked in the garage. ~ super price, easy slide drawers, plenty big, got two thinking I will get two more & put ALL my files in the garage, get rid of my file cabinets all together. March 18, 2012
Great purchase Quality product that was more than affordable for me (a college student). March 4, 2012
Great Storage These file drawers are really well made for a product which is made out of plastic. They are durable, stackable, and perfect for my basement file storage since they will never rot, rust, or fall apart. MUCH better than metal or paper!!! The drawers glide very nicely also. March 2, 2012
Amazing These were the perfect find. Not flimsy or cheap, but elegant and blend in nicely with any background. The drawers open and close with much ease. Love, love, love these storage and file drawers!! July 25, 2011
Great purchase Sturdy file boxes that look great and are stackable. I used mine in a closet to give me extra storage for paperwork in my small den. They would really work anywhere and could also stack in a garage for files not regularly used. They arrived quickly and helped me get organized in my new downsized home. I am very happy with my purchase. February 14, 2011
Great Idea I'm a children's book writer and found this file drawer not only useful but it fits into my office decor enabling me to keep my manuscripts at hand. This is the third file drawer I've purchased in the past 6 months and will certainly buy more in the future. I highly recommend this item. April 24, 2010
Affordable solution This is an affordable filing cabinet solution! I'm a graduate student and my paper files were accumulating, and I was shocked at how expensive those metal filing cabinets are. These aren't something I would want to own forever, but they are sturdy and they work. The drawers slide out smoothly as long as it's not broken (I happened to pick one up with a missing wheel, so that one drags a little but I live with it, so be sure to check and test all the drawers you buy before buying!) I stack them 4 high and they lock together, so it's just like having one of the metal ones but at a fraction of the price. It costs about $30 each, so $120 for four drawers vs. $179 for a two drawer Bisley one. Not bad! April 6, 2010
Great Storage Drawer We recently moved and needed to organize our new home. My home office is set up off the kitchen so it needs to be tidy. There is a desk, however, it wasn't set up for file drawers. We were able to turn cabinets into file drawers by simply putting this wonderful drawer inside. Then, I shut my cabinet doors and it no longer looks like an office! I love them and will be looking for legal size next. Thanks March 22, 2010
Perfect Filing Drawer If you want something that looks nice and is easy to use...this is the filing cabinet for you! I stack them three tall and they latch together with a "spine" to keep it from tilting. This is the least expensive way to file your items away! March 12, 2010
1-20 of 20


 
©2014 The Container Store® Inc.   All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your acceptance of The Container Store® Website Privacy Rights.
California Transparency in Supply Chains Act