< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

"Banana" Heavy-Weight Storage Bags

Overall Rating: 3.6 out of 5

Banana Heavy-Weight Storage Bags

"Banana" Heavy-Weight Storage Bags

Overall Rating: 3.6 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Banana Heavy-Weight Storage Bags

Most helpful top-rated review

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Just what I needed!
5 out of 5

I had a couple of extra large floor pillows and two bean-bag chairs that I wanted to put in storage in my unfinished basement that is prone to the occasional flooding, and these bags are perfect!! They are a heavy-duty, thick plastic and they will hold a lot! I can't understand the reviews that say they are as thin as trash bags and tear...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

There are no reviews that fit this criteria.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of my money I purchased 2 of these to protect my queen mattress and box spring. They ripped open by just moving the mattress into position carefully on a floor. Total waste of my money....they will NOT protect these mattresses! May 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very bad product The plastic is very thin, tears while placing it on the mattress, does not have any kind of seal or closing zipper, completely useless June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for moving your mattress We're moving soon so I bought these for the mattresses, as I don't want them against the moving truck floor or walls. Will let you know how they work out --- seem thick enough. April 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by sturdy bought this to cover my king mattress during home renovations. I found it to be sturdy and plenty big to cover my king pillow top. April 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Spend more for something that actually works If you're looking for very short term mattress storage and want something cheap, buy this (and go a size up!). If you need something that will fit and really protect your mattress in storage, spend more money and get something that actually protects your mattress. We bought the 2 pack of the "Jumbo" storage bags for our full mattress and box spring to store them temporarily in our garage. To start, one of them already had a hole in it when we opened it up, and when we tried to put the other on it was clearly too small and wouldn't fit without tearing. Our mattress is regular depth (no pillow top or anything) and I measured ahead of time, so something clearly isn't right with the description. I knew it wouldn't be top quality with the cheap price, but I didn't expect the size to be SO off. I give props to the Container Store for great customer service though, because they refunded my online order over the phone without hesitation! February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bags for storage I wanted these to store my large Christmas decorations (i.e. 5-6 foot trees, large Santa, etc). They are perfect for that. The bags are nice and heavy and see-through (although I wish they were clear instead of yellow). only problem was that I needed to get the larger size even though it said it would fit 60". by the time you tie up the top, you lose a couple of inches. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed! I had a couple of extra large floor pillows and two bean-bag chairs that I wanted to put in storage in my unfinished basement that is prone to the occasional flooding, and these bags are perfect!! They are a heavy-duty, thick plastic and they will hold a lot! I can't understand the reviews that say they are as thin as trash bags and tear easily, I think they're very strong and durable. Highly recommended! January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome mattress covers! We were moving and it was calling for rain on move-in day and these saved us! Great quality, kept the full mattress and box springs dry. I looked around online before I purchased them to see if anywhere else had a better price but this was the best buy by far. All the other places sold them separately for $4-7 each. I was glad that the Container Store sold them in two packs because you need two!! August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product We don't have a local store so I had to order on line.The only thing that I did not like was it didn't get here very fast. Shipping process was slllooooowwww June 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth it Dimensions do not match those stated. Bags were too small for a normal-size mattress (not extra-deep). Exceedingly lightweight plastic ripped immediately. May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Effective but not perfect I used this to cover my mattress during my move. It made the mattress slippery and difficult to handle. I bought the queen size one but there was a small gap of uncovered mattress at the end when I covered my pillow top queen size mattress. April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Storage Solution We recently converted one of our bedrooms into a temporary hobby room. I was very concerned about how to store the high end mattress and box springs from the bed. I found these bags at the Container Store and thought they might be a good solution. I couldn't have been more right about my decision. The plastic is incredibly sturdy! Since there are two bags in each package, I chose to double bag both the mattress and the box springs. They're now securely protected and will be clean and fresh when I return the bedroom to it's former use. Love these bags!! April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big, Strong, yella Bag We moved ourselves across country. These bags survived some rigorous dragging. They sat in not so perfect storage condictions for months while the relocation took place. Their contents were revealed and suffered.no ill effects. I felt bad tearing them off and throwing them away, so they will be used in the near future as drop cloths. Hooray! March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for furniture storage! I stage lots of homes and have items stored in garage and warehouse much of the time...and these bags do the trick for keeping items fresh while in storage. Price is great also! March 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moving tips I have used these bags for 2 cross country moves in the last three years. I use them along with the large bubble wrap and mirror boxes for my antique picture frames. I bubble the pictures first and then used the banana bags to prevent any moisture that might by encountered during the move and then they go in the mirror boxes. I used a national company and on both moves and the movers were impressed with how I had packed my belongings. Every box I used was from the Container Store with the exception of some original boxes for items like electronics. October 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worth the money For a couple of bucks I guess these bags are worth it. They did not come with the ties as advertised so I had to tape bags closed, but they are just what they sound like, really big bags. I wouldn't say they are super thick or super thin, just average...and for a few bucks I think they will work. August 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing to compare to I have never used a mattress storage bag before so I have nothing to compare this product to. I bought two sizes. The twin size and the king size for a queen pillow top, as the instructions indicated. Width and length were perfect for the twin mattress and boxspring. My queen set seemed to be almost too long for these bags and it was hard to seal. Had the package actually come with twist ties, as it says on the package, I would not have been able to use them with the queen set. As it was, I opted to use duct tape on both the queen and twin sets. Plastic wasn't as thick as I had anticipated, although again, I have nothing else to compare them to. May 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works as described Not thick enough to slide around, and they can't be resused, but they protected four mattresses in transit with moving men, so job well done. March 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bags are not just for mattresses! Excellent product, well worth the 5 or 6 dollar price. Don't know why anyone would think they would be reusable after a move. . . Really? Have bought a couple of the twin size packs (3 bags/pkg) to provide dust-free storage for baby swings, high chairs, etc. Definitely buy a size up if you have one of those super deep mattresses. MOVING TIP: Wrap duct tape completely around the short side of the mattress. Make a carry/grab strap out of duct tape and secure it to the duct tape you wrapped around the mattress. Repeat as needed. March 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used this for gowns, for storage of baby items in the garage and have some on hand for other things I may think of storing. March 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mattress Storage Bags Excellent product; Great value; Easy to use; Durable. February 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Quality I purchased this bag so I could store a queen size bobopedic mattress since the sofa bed was broken. Being that the mattress is not a regular full size i assumed this bag would be more than sufficient. When i opened the bag it is a very thin, open bag with no sealer feature. Thinner than a kitchen garbage bag. I put the mattress in and had to tape it shut since it does not have any selaer feature on it. When two people went to move the mattress to the attic it ripped right open easily in two spots. it was impossible to move the mattress without the bag ripping. December 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Protection, but not for thick pillow tops I used this product in a recent move. It protected the mattress as advertised. The slipperiness of the plastic made it easier to push on the carpet, hardwood floor, and down the stairs ⿿ but not so much to lift it into the moving truck. I was not able to use the twist-ties the bags come with, because my mattress is a pillow-top. I ended using packing tape to close the bag ⿿ the tape did not remove cleanly, so I was not able to save the bag for a later use. October 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Matress cover Very useful. We bought 2 and only needed one. Not worried about finding a use for it tho :) February 15, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wasn't sure when ordering online but there are multiple bags per item February 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely the Top Banana I was stuck looking for a way to store 3 big 3D standing snowflake decorations from our school's dance ranging from 3 ft. to 6 ft. in height & with very irregular shapes. We wanted to be able to use these displays again next year, but there was no way I could keep them standing up inside my house for a year! Banana bags to the rescue! I had no trouble fitting the snowflakes inside these bags & had room to spare. I tied up the opening of the bags using extra large rubber bands & then suspended the 2 bags inside my garage from my garage beams using an adjustable J hook that I also found at The Container Store. Now those snowflakes don't even take up any floor space in my garage. January 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love these bags I use these bags for storing Christmas decor. Because the bags are clear, they are not mistaken for trash and you can see what the items are. I have not had any tears even through I have stored pinecones and greenery in them. January 7, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Jumbo bags I was clearly dissatisfied with the quality of the Jumbo bags, as soon as I placed a piece of my luggage into the bag for storage the wheel on my luggage poked through it and tore a hole into the bag. I used a second bag thinking that I may have placed the luggage into the bag to rough and as soon as I picked up the storage bag with the luggage in it the second bag tore. My reason for buying these bags was because they were advertised as being heavy duty. I will not purchase this particular item again. October 5, 2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by eh these bags are ok. the end that was supposed to be sealed came open with almost no pressure. and the bag tore quite easily. i wish there was a heavier weight plastic available out there. June 15, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Banana Mattress Storage Bags - a great product The Banana Mattress Storage Bags have served our purpose very well! They keep the dust out and the mattress in good condition. May 17, 2010
  • 2016-10-31 T08:19:07.231-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_10001352, prod, sort_default
2 next»