< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Slim Folding Step Stool

Overall Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Slim Folding Step Stool

Slim Folding Step Stool

Overall Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Slim Folding Step Stool

Most helpful top-rated review

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

STEP ON IT
5 out of 5

What's there to say.....It's a step stool. I step on it and I can reach stuff I couldn't before.

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Difficult to close
2 out of 5

This is a good size and does fold very slim for storage, but it is very difficult to close. The red button you are supposed to use to close doesn't work at all. To close you have to actually move the metal connection latch with your fingers which could very easily lead to pinched fingers. I will be returning this item.

Read the full review >
Slim Folding Step Stool 4.7 5 70 70
Almost there Overall I think this stool is good. It is definitely slim, but the smoothness from open to close is a bit tricky and sometimes sticky. I'd love for it to simply ease open and closed. June 24, 2014
Great Step Stool This two step stool is perfect for reaching high shelves in the kitchen. The slim folding feature allows it to fit between my washing machine and refrigerator for easy access that is hidden from view. April 26, 2014
Perfect size Great price for a great step stool. Takes up very little space and I can reach the top shelf in my pantry with it. April 26, 2014
Great little ladder I love this little ladder. I'm short and always needing an extra step. This ladder is perfect - I keep it in my closet and can always reach the top shelf. I love how it takes up almost no space. Folding it was a little bit tricky at first, but totally worth it. April 25, 2014
step stool Great step stool. Had to learn how to close it, a lil tricky, but thats probably just me. Closes flat so I can stash it in my vertical cabinet for easy access. I can reach the top shelves easily in my kitchen with this stool. love it. April 19, 2014
good but seriously flawed I've owned about 6 of these stools for my home and for professional use as a location photographer. Its the best most portable stool I've ever found but it really needs to be improved in important ways. The red catch button is extremely sticky and tricky to operate, the carry handle always breaks after a couple months of just light use and the rubber feet often come off and go missing. Despite bringing these problems to the Container Store's and the manufacture's attention nothing changes over the years. Maybe this review will help. April 18, 2014
Durable step stool Great step stool. Easy to open and close. Closes flat so can be stashed anywhere. Very stable. I buy it for all of my clients. I buy one for every room that has high storage. That way you never have to go looking for a ladder. March 10, 2014
Great Space Saving Step Stool We have a larger and sturdier folding step stool from The Container Store already but I needed one for just my office. I didn't want a huge bulky thing so I opted for this smaller one. It does what it needs to do and takes up very little room when folded up. I found it a little difficult to close when I first got it. There is a red plastic cap that you have to press in a certain way plus pull on a strap at the same time to close. Our other step stool folds away by pulling on one small lever. I think it was really stiff when I first tried it out. It seems to close up a lot quicker now. Still requires a little finesse though. It says the max weight is 225lb but I'm not sure how well it would hold up to the max weight for a long period of time. I am 118lbs and I find it just sturdy enough for me. Also, the bottom edge underneath is sharp metal (where the metal folds under). Its not rounded off or smoothed out. Also the place where it folds on the side could be an easy place to catch your finger. You definitely have to follow the directions to a T when folding it up. And keep all this in mind if you have little ones. For quick use well under the max weight, I say this works great. February 27, 2014
Great stepstool Love this stepstool. It's the perfect height for reaching tall kitchen cabinets. And it stores perfectly in a narrow kitchen cabinet (it's about 22" high x 1.5" wide when folded). Easy to fold up, too. November 1, 2013
STEP ON IT What's there to say.....It's a step stool. I step on it and I can reach stuff I couldn't before. October 24, 2013
Exactly what I wanted! I had been looking for a step stool that was preferably made of metal, small but sturdy and without the usual tall handle. All I saw were the plastic one steps. I couldn't believe it when I found this while roaming through the store for the very first time. My mouth dropped and I actually said to myself, OMG! I bought it right away and I love it. It's so easy to use. October 3, 2013
Sturdy stool... almost too sturdy! Got this stool for my master bedroom closet, as we have some pretty high shelves in there that I regularly need access to... This is an awesome, sturdy stool at a great price. It is perfect for my intended purpose, especially since it has two steps-- and, when it folds up, it requires verrrry little storage space (about the size of half a Greater Houston Area phone book). This stool is SO sturdy, sometimes it's difficult to collapse when you're done using it. (Directions are simply stated and firmly attached to the underside of the lowest step-- duh!) So, I'm sure I'll keep this for YEARS to come-- much like everything else I've ever bought from Container Store, it's built to last! September 28, 2013
Love this step stool This is an excellent step stool. It is very sturdy. It folds up easily and takes up a minimual amount of room. September 19, 2013
The step stool is compact, sturdy and lightweight. August 29, 2013
Easy Fold Stool My daughter needed an easy stool for her closet in order to reach items that were out of arm's reach. This was a good product with a good price. August 29, 2013
wonderful tiny step stool with punch I held my breath whenever I purchased this product due to the previous reviewers dislike of the release button being too difficult to activate. My step stool must have been redesigned because the red release button works wonderfully! Also, I purchased this because the step stool I bought at a different store had a large handle, and my children couldn't quite figure out where to stand, because if you think about it, do you stand behind the huge handle, or try to stand on the platform/top step in front of the handle. I am glad the container store design puts the handle on the side of the platform/top step to utilize the entire surface area for standing. My kids haven't had any trouble using this and I feel it is much safer than the "typical" step stool. I really like using it too. August 14, 2013
this is a great little stool! I love this stool because it is so sturdy and folds up to only like a 1 3/4 inch. It fits in the narrow opening by the fridge. August 5, 2013
Works good I like the slimness of it BUT having a hard time getting it down.. It holds me and is sturdy.. I feel safe when on it.. July 19, 2013
Reliable step stool This step stool honestly just happened to be bought because we didn't have one and saw it while browsing, but I love how sturdy it feels. And obviously it helps me get up in places I cannot easily reach. It is tricky to close, the red button really doesn't fully release, but once you get the hang of how to close it it's not a problem. If I could explain I would, but at least I know it won't close on me! July 5, 2013
sturdy boost This fabulously sturdy stepstool helps me everywhere around my home. It's slim profile allows me to stow it away easily and I love the rubber grips on the step surface. Well worth the cost. I know this one will last for decades. June 16, 2013
Absolute Best This is the absolute best step stool ever! We own 2 - one for in the house, one for the garage and gave one to our granddaughter for Christmas when we saw it was on her list. We have the chrome stools because I wasn't sure about chipping of the white finish. You won't regret this purchase. March 18, 2013
Great, handy, sturdy! Great little step stool. I'm 5'6. Being a midget isn't so fun sooo... now I can easily reach the top of high cabinets. Ta da! Seriously though, I've had mine for years. It's stores away very skinny and fits into small places. March 18, 2013
Difficult to close This is a good size and does fold very slim for storage, but it is very difficult to close. The red button you are supposed to use to close doesn't work at all. To close you have to actually move the metal connection latch with your fingers which could very easily lead to pinched fingers. I will be returning this item. March 17, 2013
a must have for the closet This step stool is fabulous. I bought it for my new elfa closet since I know have shelves up to the top. It's lightweight, slides into the closet and doesn't take up space and it supports all of my 185 pounds! I love it. Oh yes, very ez to open and close. March 10, 2013
Sturdy enough for heavyweights I purchased an identical stool from the Container Store but the weight rating was higher (300lbs maybe?) Not sure if this version is actually different, but the one we have looks the same and it has worked well. March 2, 2013
Simply, sturdy, great value Compact and sturdy, this step stool provides just enough lift to reach top shelves in closets. Folds down to a very slim profile that can be tucked away unnoticed. We own tow of these and find them indispensable for closets. February 28, 2013
Best stepstool I've ever owned I've had this stepstool for a long time, opened and closed it a million times -- very durable, especially for the money. February 26, 2013
Great compact step stool I bought this step stool to access upper shelves in my bedroom closet, so I wanted something compact that I could also store in the closet without taking up too much space. It is not hard to fold up, but, for some reason, the red button on mine didn't seem to work very will. With a little playing around with it, I figured out how to easily fold it up. Not sure if this is "user error" or a small defect with the stool I have. Otherwise, a great product. October 8, 2012
Small size great for small kitchen It is terrific for my small kitchen. Some others mentioned difficult to close but I have no problems with it at all. September 27, 2012
Great Buy This stool is very sturdy, and I love that it folds up so thin September 11, 2012
2 3 next>>