x
 

Design-Your-Own Wine Racks

Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Design-Your-Own Wine Racks

Most helpful top-rated review

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Great Wine Racks
5 out of 5

We have about 1,000 bottles stored in these racks - they're the least expensive STABLE racks we've found. I have one rack that's about 8' tall by 5' long and then several smaller ones. They MUST be assembled with a rubber mallet on a flat surface - anything else will result in an unstable mess - a regular hammer will just...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

There are no reviews that fit this criteria.

Design-Your-Own Wine Racks 4.4 5 33 33
Nice wine rack I already had set up part of my basement as a wine cellar so this product fit perfect with the existing setup. What's nice is that you can adjust nicely to awkward space. It's a bit expensive but it was easy to put together (have a rubber mallet handy). I did order 2 which the site said were in stock. The store called me before the pick up date and told me there was only 1 in stock. I waited an extra week. The pick up couldn't have been easier. Drove up to the front of the store and they brought it right out. All in all, a good experience. September 4, 2014
fits Fits perfect under my buffet counter. Would fit anywhere, in the smallest of spaces and store the max amount of bottles. July 7, 2014
Simple Elegance I recently bought and assembled the 40 bottle version of this wine rack. Let me say, it is adult tinker toys on steroids! If you are experiencing a rough day, just grab a rubber mallet (a MUST), a glass of wine, and start pounding away! You do not need to hold back when assembling this product. It is durable and with some hard hits went together perfectly. Some of the reviews mention that it is hard to align. Because I was assembling it on a hard concrete surface, I didn't have that problem. When sections were assembled, I made sure to lay it flat and hold it to the ground and hit it with the mallet until flat. I repeated the process on it's sides as well. If you take some time, and don't hold back your swing of the mallet, you can get a pretty straight wine rack! Plus it is ROCK SOLID! I LOVE the versatility in that you can make whatever shape you would like and you can make the wine rack larger as your wine collection grows! Along with that, you can make it fit in whatever space you have! Our wine collection lives in the cupboard under the stairs, so I created a stair step pattern. In fact, we just added to our collection and I will be purchasing the 12 bottle kit to add to our existing 40 bottle setup. I did mention that it is like tinker toys, but once assembled it looks like those great wine racks that you see in those fancy cave cellers. It's simply elegant! May 1, 2014
Awesome for gift wrap! I have lots of gift wrap and nothing to store it in. I also had a large area over our laundry room fridge that was deep and didn't know what to do with that space. So I went to The Container Store because it always seems to have a solution and I came across this wine rack. Since it was design your own I was able to add on until my space was filled! April 2, 2014
Great purchase I bought this product for my husband and he absolutely loves it! Great storage and quite sturdy. April 1, 2014
great storage This wine rack is so sturdy, but it is not cheap. Also, I found it very difficult to assemble. It looks as if it would be easy, but NO! It took a lot of pounding and swearing to get it together, and is very difficult to get perfectly aligned. I would not do it again. March 24, 2014
Tinker toys are more rewarding This wine rack for the price is not worth the frustration and energy to put it together. Once together the pegs do not sit evenly (and I consider myself to be pretty crafty) so the rack is very unstable. Not a safe feeling for expensive bottles of wine. February 19, 2014
Very sturdy wine rack This wine rack is somewhat hard to put together (definitely need a rubber mallet and some patience to make it level), but once it's together, it's a rock! Super sturdy, and I love that I can always add to it later. Matches really well with my J.K. Adams spice rack and made in the USA also! January 13, 2014
Love it - and get a rubber mallot Christmas gift for my husband - he loved it. And be sure to have a rubber mallot around, he used my shoe for a while...will be taking that to the cobbler! December 28, 2013
Great product This thing is great. Yes, it takes some effort to put it together. The pins are a tight fit. This is a good thing, unless you want it to fall apart and drop your wine all over the place. Get yourself a rubber mallet, a hard surface, and a six pack of beer, and go to town. The pins are sturdy and can take a hard mallet hit, don't be shy. After assembling it you will feel a nice bit of DIY satisfaction every time you look at it. My only complaint is that some of the holes on the hexagonal beams are not perfectly centered. This causes the rack to be slightly out of square in some spots. It's barely noticeable from a distance and once you've got it full of bottles, but if you look closely it's a little wonky. I don't mind it, it adds to the hand crafted look and it's nice to have something that doesn't look like a robot built it. However some might be bothered by it. I have attached a picture of one such off-center hole. December 21, 2013
Versatile and elegant I don't understand the one star reviews. Assembly couldn't have been easier. It took about half an hour, if that. I opted for the basic square layout, but I love the fact that I could have chosen so many others. Larger layouts are only limited by your imagination. December 14, 2013
Love this!!! I have been eyeing this for quite some time and finally bought it for my husband who loves to drink wine. It is like tinker toys for adults - super fun to construct and gives you a lot of options about how you want to set it up so it could go anywhere. Great construction, super easy and good quality. Love it! April 23, 2013
Difficult to Assemble I read all of the reviews and most claim that this was so easy to assemble.....perhaps I missed something? I collect wine and have been looking for a way to store it and was thrilled to come across this wine rack. I love that you can make it into various shapes and sizes - definitely a plus! End product is great and fits my need, but assembling it was not so great. I bought a rubber mallot and that definitely helped, but I found it rather difficult to put together. I didn't use glue, but since I bought the 40+ bottle rack, perhaps I should have. It was a frustrating adventure, but I was determined to complete the task. February 27, 2013
Great Wine Rack This product has great flexibility as it can be configured in a shape and size to fit your needs. If needed it can be configured to fit inside a smaller cabinet spaces of various dimensions and you can add on as your personal wine cellar grows. If your collection out grows your initial space it can also work as a decent looking free standing wine rack as well. Also nice the product is made in the good ole USA from renewable resources. February 7, 2013
Great Wine Racks We have about 1,000 bottles stored in these racks - they're the least expensive STABLE racks we've found. I have one rack that's about 8' tall by 5' long and then several smaller ones. They MUST be assembled with a rubber mallet on a flat surface - anything else will result in an unstable mess - a regular hammer will just damage the rack. When I assemble a new rack segment, I make multiple rows about 6 to 12 racks long, then assemble those rows into cubes, then connect the cubes into whatever size/shape I need. If I'm adding to an existing rack, I usually remove the bottles for about 2 rows around the space being added, and then tap gently with a rubber mallet until the new rack is leveled and securely in place. Haven't broken a bottle yet. November 24, 2012
Great wine rack We buy wine in cases frequently in order to get reduced prices. With little option for storage we used to simply keep them in the boxes but it was not very attractive and many of the boxes were not very stable. These wooden wine racks are really great for anyone who buys bulk wine. If you have a very small storage need I would pick something a little less plain looking and stylish but these were great for our quantity. I will say the assembly was a rather large task. You really need to hammer, with force, each little peg in place with a rubber mallet. All in all, from unpacking the box to planning the shape we wanted (a great feature of this product) it probably took about 90 minutes. The advantage of all this effort is that the final rack is extremely stable and will not wobble or come undone at all, even when stacked full with wine. We did not use any glue as the pegs were plenty tight. Lastly, even though it says it holds 40, it actually holds 44 as there is room for bottles on the top row. I will be buying two more of these for the rest of our wine. A great product that turned out even better than I expected. June 26, 2012
Pantry must have Classy and organized! Great way to organize your pantry May 6, 2012
Design your own wine racks I just purchased this wine rack and it is going to be very serviceable and expandable. It's very strong and stable and can be expanded both vertically and horizonally if need be. I started with a 12 bottle rack. May 5, 2012
Difficult to assemble This is way too difficult to put together. The pieces do not fit together easily and you have to hammer some of them in, which ends up making it uneven. I am going to return it. January 9, 2012
Great Wine Rack Very sturdy rack. Easy to put together in any configuration. Easy to add more bottle spaces. January 6, 2012
Works where others do not Rack can be modified (sawed / sanded to fit in odd-shaped cabinets) and then painted / stained to fit any decor. December 18, 2011
Are you kidding? This was the worst assembly nightmare ever! I should have known when they included 8 extra pegs. Tinker toys are made better. Very poor consistency of pegs, and it took an hour to assemble this 13" square wine rack. October 12, 2011
Great wine rack This was easy to assemble and seems very sturdy. Because you can make the rack long and low or tall and thin, I was able to make it fit perfectly into the space I had for it. Best of all, it looks great. August 31, 2011
perfect solution for closet storage of wine! We bought two racks and put them together vertically and it fits perfectly to one corner of our hall closet. It holds more bottles in less space than the other racks we were considering. We also use it for sparkling water and bottles of similar shapes. It has certainly cleaned up our closet. February 15, 2011
I bought this wine rack years ago, and now I'm adding on. I am so glad this is still available. February 14, 2011
wine rack Purchased this simple wine rack for a storeage cabinet. Easy to assemble. Many different options for assembly. All peices arrived all peices fit. Would buy this again and would recommend to others. Arrived quickly also. December 24, 2010
Great Purchase! Clever and attractive design that will complement many décors. Good price. October 11, 2010
Simple, good looking wine storage solution This is well designed and manufactured, with everything fitting properly and tightly. You do need a hammer or mallet to ensure proper fit. The instructions suggest building it in modules and then fasten the modules together because a single layer that is, say, 8 spaces long is hard to handle and hard to put another 8 space module on top of (that's 16 pegs to align). They give you extra pegs, but I found none of mine to be a problem fit. October 3, 2010
Great purchase This wine rack allows total flexibility and is a sturdy nice looking product. I collect wine and have limited space. This product offers flexibility as it is modular and you can add to it. It is a very solid and well made product. It is easy to assemble. I have purchased this product before and this purchase was to add on. July 29, 2010
Great product Flexible design, very sturdy when assembled and good looking. This is the second time we've bought one - first purchase was for a different home where it fit into a small and difficult space. We left it there when we sold the place. June 11, 2010
2 next>>


 
©2014 The Container Store® Inc.   All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your acceptance of The Container Store® Website Privacy Rights.
California Transparency in Supply Chains Act