x
 

Slat Bamboo Dish Rack by Umbra®

Overall Rating: 3.6 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Slat Bamboo Dish Rack by Umbra®

Most helpful top-rated review

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

You have to love anything that is Bamboo!
5 out of 5

Very nice product. The trouble with most bamboo drainer is they get very nasty where the water collects near the bottom. This design does not do that we it drains into a plastic drain pan and then into the sink. I wish it had more slots and at times wish a few of the slots were further apart for larger items. But after all it is designed for plates...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Utterly impractical
2 out of 5

Sadly I was wooed by how attractive this product is. Don't make the same mistake I did. This thing is only adequate if the only things you ever wash are flat dishes, forks and knives. Anything else, like pots and pans, bowls, backing sheets, etc don't fit on it at all. And the utensil holder isn't locked in place, so anything too tall...

Read the full review >
Slat Bamboo Dish Rack by Umbra® 3.6 5 14 14
Utterly impractical Sadly I was wooed by how attractive this product is. Don't make the same mistake I did. This thing is only adequate if the only things you ever wash are flat dishes, forks and knives. Anything else, like pots and pans, bowls, backing sheets, etc don't fit on it at all. And the utensil holder isn't locked in place, so anything too tall in it, or leaning against it, makes the whole thing topple over. Fail. September 12, 2014
Love the design, hard to keep clean I have had this dish rack for a few years and I love it. However it is hard to keep it looking nice. I wish the design were available in a material that was easier to keep clean, like black plastic instead of bamboo. The rack is beautiful (for awhile) and it is easy to vertically stack odd pots and pans, because you can lean the first one against the utensil holder, which stays put because there are tabs that lock it to the base, and the bamboo slats are deep and thick enough to grab the edges of the pots. (I put my plates and bowls in the dishwasher.) The flat rack is good for laying misc pieces like french press and chopper parts, fragile mugs and glassware (because there are no sides to bump into). The utensil holder is strong and I can put tall heavy pieces and large items in it like a plastic microwave egg poacher and a large strainer handle. It is a really usable dish rack for odd pieces. I tried to find a different product to replace this the other day and came up with nothing. This design is almost perfect. So instead of replacing it, I sanded the graying and peeling bamboo with an electric palm sander, washed it, put it in the dishwasher top rack, then after it dried, I applied butcher block oil to it. Now it looks much nicer. I think most of the coating came off. It was peeling off anyway after so much use. I am going to treat this like a bamboo cutting board until I remodel my kitchen, then I'll probably buy a new one and wash it every day. The other disadvantage is that the white part has buildup from the hard water. A daily washing of the base would hopefully solve that. I'm not fond of the slope and draining feature since it does not work with my sink which has a lip. However I just put a sponge at the opening to absorb the water. It works OK and I have not thought of a better solution yet. I don't think I've experienced mold or mildew - just discoloring (gray spots) on the bamboo and hard water buildup on the white plastic parts. I live in a dry climate and the dish rack is near a window, so it stays pretty dry. I don't know what bamboo would do in a more humid climate. I would love to have this design in a black plastic (or black hard plastic with white utensil holder and base), instead of the bamboo. July 2, 2014
The Best This dish drying rack is not only beautiful but perfect for anyone who washes any dishes by hand. It looks really nice on the counter without the top dish part. Perfect for glasses, bowls or things that lie flat.. Well worth going just for this item! June 19, 2014
want a refund For a dish rack and drain being next to water it is not at all useful already has mold growing from inside due to the opening in the bamboo inside the slits. I scrubbed and scrubbed but the mold is so set it does not come out. I put in the dishwasher and it is still there. The drainboard is not slanted enough and the water ponds. It is pretty but not at all functional. May 24, 2014
Not good value for money Unless you have the plates that are shown in the advertising your plates will not stack and they fall over. Plates with rims that are even slightly curved do not fit in the slats. If the slates were wider they probably would. May 12, 2014
Great Organizer for Dishes and Silverware I was looking for something that could hold my daughter's dishes and silverware in her dorm room, that would also double as a drying rack. This is perfect! It fits on the shelf, looks stylish and is functional. Her dishes are colorful so it looks like art on her walls now. LOVE IT! September 30, 2013
Love it This is one of the most simplest dish rack drainers, but I love it because it comes apart really easy that makes it fast to clean April 11, 2013
Great for what can't go in the dishwasher This is my favorite of any dish drain I have ever purchased. It is pretty on your counter and has held up very well over the past year. My Mom even asked where we got it so they can get one. I have never had any of the milder problems others mention. I hand wash the bamboo part when needed and stick the plastic bottom piece in the dishwasher. I would definitely buy again. March 18, 2013
Most Improved Product! I liked this the first time I bought one. Minimalist design. Holds dishes well (dishes with rims!). But oh my, after a few weeks it grew mildew that was hard to get rid off. Nevertheless, I bought a second one after a few months. 7 months later...no mildew. They must have addressed the problem with some special coating. Liked it before, now I love it! Thanks, Umbra! February 17, 2013
Looks over functionality This is a pretty little dishrack and if you only wash an occasional glass or plate and have a dishwasher, it will suit you fine. I, however, don't have a dishwasher and tried using this for a few months. It barely holds any dishes, it's full before you finish washing the dishes for a meal for two. On top of that it kept getting mildewy, I constantly had to keep washing it with bleach to keep it from turning green. If you have odd shaped plates, mine are more square with little lips on them, and this doesn't hold them at all. I opted for a better designed plastic version to replace this. It unfortunately went in the trash. September 27, 2011
Gets the Job Done I bought this for my small kitchen that does not have a dishwasher and it works fine and I love that it is compact. My only confusion was that the silverware tray doesn't fit perfectly into it - it sits at a little bit of an angle. Also, I have square plates which I thought would stand up ok on their own but they don't. I end up just leaning them against the silverware rack so in the end it works out. I love that it's flat already so I can just slip it under the sink when it's not in use and the draining tray works great. July 10, 2011
We just purchased this product and like the simplicity and modern look it adds to the kitchen. I was a little surprised, however, to notice that within a few days the bamboo already had light colored spotted stains. I guess it is from the water. They don't seem to rub out, so I guess it will need to be restained. July 5, 2011
Completes my kitchen I did away with the plastic drainer years ago, and this little rack is so much nicer than that soggy wet towel for all those odds 'n ends that aren't going into the dishwasher. I love it! November 26, 2010
You have to love anything that is Bamboo! Very nice product. The trouble with most bamboo drainer is they get very nasty where the water collects near the bottom. This design does not do that we it drains into a plastic drain pan and then into the sink. I wish it had more slots and at times wish a few of the slots were further apart for larger items. But after all it is designed for plates (just can't have it all)! The flatware sections are just the right depth, even larger spoon and stirring spoons etc do not out. It is very attractive so leaving it by the sink is not unsightly. I love this little drainer October 14, 2010
1-14 of 14


 
©2014 The Container Store® Inc.   All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your acceptance of The Container Store® Website Privacy Rights.
California Transparency in Supply Chains Act