x
 

Vintage Glass Food Storage

Overall Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Vintage Glass Food Storage

Most helpful top-rated review

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Food-Safe Glass but No Seal
4 out of 5

I like these containers because they can go from fridge to microwave to table (they look nice, and so do the covers). However, they don't seal. The top merely has an indent and fits nicely (not snugly) on the bottom. Also, these containers do not stack and therefore take up a lot of room.

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

All glass is good
3 out of 5

This product is made by Anchor Hocking which has been around since 1932. it is a very solid, heavy glass with a glass lid that rests lightly on the top. The product is a great alternative to plastic which I am trying to get out of my kitchen completely. The lids do not appear air tight, which may be a problem since I am used to the tight whoosh of...

Read the full review >
Vintage Glass Food Storage 4.7 5 20 20
All glass is good This product is made by Anchor Hocking which has been around since 1932. it is a very solid, heavy glass with a glass lid that rests lightly on the top. The product is a great alternative to plastic which I am trying to get out of my kitchen completely. The lids do not appear air tight, which may be a problem since I am used to the tight whoosh of plastic lids. But they seem to work well in the fridge. I think I might try a glass product with an air tight lid next time, but for now these seem OK. The largest container had small cracks in the surface of the glass when it arrived. Looks like manufacturing quality problem but does not affect the usage. July 6, 2013
Green storage that's stackable Having read many articles about how bad plastic is for food storage (never wash plastic in the dishwasher, don't reuse it) I bought these glass containers. There are glass containers with plastic lids which are IMPOSSIBLE to open or close but these are easy and stack neatly in the fridge. And then they get washed in the dishwasher. Of course you must be careful of the lids, but we have yet to break one. March 20, 2013
Vintage Glass Storage You have no idea how long I have been looking for glass food storage with a glass lid. Everything today seems to have a plastic lid. The glass will last forever, the lid a couple years. Not to mention food and plastic are not healthy. Thanks for keeping alive glass food storage with a glass lid. BTW they also store well as they can be stacked one inside the next. March 12, 2013
Bought for a wedding shower These containers (I bought the larger and smaller ones) were very nice looking in person - much classier looking than traditional Pyrex glass containers. I obviously didn't use them, but they looked great. They were a little on the heavier side, but must glass containers aren't light. February 24, 2013
Great all-glass food storage I wanted all-glass containers to store my cooked veggies and leftovers. Pretty enough to use at the table. The lack of handles on the lids is an asset in a small fridge like mine, but it's a drawback when a container is hot from the oven. May 3, 2012
Great storage jars These are functional and good- looking, and best of all, made in the USA! I try always to buy American products first, and the Container Store makes that easy! May 23, 2011
Glass will always be the best choice! Not only does it not melt or stain, it looks so clean and pretty in your refrigerator! April 18, 2011
great item My mother has some antique glass containers and I went looking for something similar. These are so nice they're party worthy, prepare ahead of time, put in the fridge, and go straight to the party table! February 18, 2011
forget plastic Love these for leftovers! They eliminate plastics and they are super sturdy. I expect them to last forever. February 15, 2011
glass boxes These are the best! No stains, stack neatly, you can see what's in them...and they look classy in the frig. January 21, 2011
Vintage for a reason... Love these storage containers! No worries about plastic chemicals, easy to clean, and can take the heat and cold (just not in the same minute!) If you love ease, and love to stack more than one on top of another in the fridge, this baby is for you. It's back to the good ole days, with enduring, substantial glass for me...you know it makes sense. November 14, 2010
Sturdy and Easy to Clean I usually don't feel like I need sturdy glassware for storage, the plastic usually does fine, but this is extremely easy to clean and doesn't stain like a lot of the plastic does. It is also nice because I can cook in it and then just put a lid on it and throw it in the fridge. It makes everything a lot easier. I will definitely purchase other sizes. May 17, 2010
Great quality Better than Mom's old ones--you know, the old red-blue-yellow set that everyone had. The clear glass leaves no doubt as to contents. My only mistake was in not buying more the first time because they sure are handy. April 24, 2010
Retro Charm I ordered a pair of "Vintage Glass Storage Cups", which are an echo of the little covered glass containers I grew up with. They are attractive, practical and a bit nostalgic... a new favorite! April 23, 2010
Food-Safe Glass but No Seal I like these containers because they can go from fridge to microwave to table (they look nice, and so do the covers). However, they don't seal. The top merely has an indent and fits nicely (not snugly) on the bottom. Also, these containers do not stack and therefore take up a lot of room. March 30, 2010
Great buy! I have purchased almost a dozen of these storage containers in both sizes. The 16 oz is the perfect size for storage, reheating and serving single servings of pre planned meals. They are beautiful, practical, a great value, and are a great addition to any kitchen! You can feel good about helping save the environment by replacing disposable containers and storage bags with these earth friendly dishes. I have had mine for two years, I use them every day and they still look brand new! This is one purchase you will not have buyers remorse over! ENJOY! March 30, 2010
GREAT Very nice. A little heavy, but good quality and not worried about the plastic getting warped! March 21, 2010
totally plastic free! I bought these mainly because they are plastic free and I am very happy with them. I love how they stack so neatly, transfer easily from cold to hot, and of course how they employ no plastic in the process. They wouldn't fit so tightly in the freezer if they had handles like some of the other reviewers commented but since I have a tiny freezer and they take up so little space I think the lack of handles is worth it! March 6, 2010
Small glass containers are great I received two of the small (2 cup) glass containers as a gift and I love them. They hold a good amount of leftovers and, since they are all clear glass, do well for re-heating in a microwave or toaster oven. The only drawback is that there are no handles on the lid or on the sides so care is needed to remove the dishes safely from the oven and then to take off the hot lid. The ridges in the glass do help a little. Since they are roughly square and are flat on top, they take up little room in the fridge and can be stacked on top of one another which is really nice. I will probably buy more or maybe try the larger size. March 4, 2010
Great Space Saving Storage I like that these are literally refrigerator to oven dishes with no changing the lids from a flat rubber one for the refrigerator to a glass one for baking. They stack very nicely in the refrigerator and allow me to see instantly what is in them. Leftovers do not get lost in the refrigerator and go bad because they are in never never land in non see through containers. They look great for storage and for serving. I want to get more of these. The only drawback is if the larger square has been in the oven with the lid on, it is a little precarious to take the lid off with an oven mitt since the handle is recessed and not very easy to grip with a mitt. March 3, 2010
1-20 of 20


 
©2014 The Container Store® Inc.   All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your acceptance of The Container Store® Website Privacy Rights.
California Transparency in Supply Chains Act