< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Platinum elfa freestanding Feet

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Platinum elfa freestanding Feet

Platinum elfa freestanding Feet

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Platinum elfa freestanding Feet

Most helpful top-rated review

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Pleasantly surprised
5 out of 5

I have been an elfa fan since I installed my first closet system, but when I moved into an apartment and was looking for a convertible media unit, I thought I might be able to make the elfa system fit this need as well. It was perfect -- I didn't have to drill into the wall and I can rearrange the shelves as much as I want. I was nervous to see...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love everything except the shelf clips
3 out of 5

We have traditional Elfa hanging shelves everywhere - closets, garage, workshop, laundry room. We were delighted when free- standing came out as it allowed us to fill a need in our basement. The one flaw was the plastic clips used to hold a shelf to the feet; any time we would go to slide something onto the shelf, the clips would pop off. We just...

Read the full review >
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty perfect The freestanding system is easy to put together and the feet are great because they can be adjusted to make up for uneven floors. I had to raise my feet up a bunch because my floor molding is a bit taller than average, but the feet fit. If they could raise up about 1/2" higher that would be even better to give you more flexibility. March 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding great for renters! I just purchased my third set of freestanding elfa to make a second desk. It's great for me as I'm hesitant to put too many holes in the walls of my rented apartment. Everything is really sturdy and it'll be easy to dismantle when I move. I've played with the configuration of the shelf a bunch of times before I got it right. Luckily. Container Store has excellent customer service for returns and exchanges. January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like these better than the 17" feet I like these 21" feet better than the 17" feet because you can add Elfa shelves and Elfa desktops of any depth. This is especially advantageous in office and craft spaces. February 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly parts and pieces If you can dream it, you can build it. This especially applies to Elfa systems, plus it breaks down into easy to move pieces. Perfect for dorm or apartment living. You can also change the design to accomodate any need you may have. June 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Shelving I use my shelving in the basement to get stored items off the floor. Easy to install. Every thing is so easy to organize. I use with the plastic storage bins. I label the bins which makes it better when I look for items I have stored. Love being able to configure to my space. January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Conversion A couple of years ago I had an Elfa Shelf System installed on a wall in the basement. My situation has changed, and I wanted to move the system upstairs into a spare bedroom, but I wanted to go with freestanding system (I didn⿿t want to deal with the plaster walls of this old house). I was able to use three 83⿝ freestanding uprights, three 17⿝ freestanding feet and two 2⿿ stabilization kits to accomplish my goal--and I was able to do it by myself in about an hour. I was enormously pleased! December 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Additional add on We bought this item in order to split our 10' unit into two units . We love the Elfa system it is so easy to assemble every piece fits precisely a very well made product! February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even more amazing after moving with us I have bought the freestanding shelf system for what I thought was a temporary situation, but it turns out to be a very effective, beautiful and most of all functional option for customizing my office space. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stable, moveable After adding numerous wall shelves, this was our first free-standing shelf purchase. The unit is stable, fills our need to store towels, plus move around our master closet. The cross-bar stabilizer was a good buy for this unit, althought it took me a while to figure out how to put it together. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by my hero omg, it's the best system ever. When I had to go from Elfa to fee standing, it opened up my husbands eyes, to a whole new world. I don't know if there is anything else like it or cheaper, but I am very faithful to elfa. I went from a house to a new mobile home and it works for us. Love It July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Elfa Free Standing option I just purchased two free standing sets at the store. The design consultant was very helpful and knew exactly what I needed. I bought a 3ft wide free standing with 8 shelves to hold my shoes (each 12" deep shelf held 5 pairs, and a 16" deep shelf on the bottom held 8 pairs of boots); a 2 ft wide free standing with baskets held my boys' balls and equipment. Love these! They're sturdy, and I love being able to adjust the shelves to fit my needs. Can't wait to start working on my closet! April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised I have been an elfa fan since I installed my first closet system, but when I moved into an apartment and was looking for a convertible media unit, I thought I might be able to make the elfa system fit this need as well. It was perfect -- I didn't have to drill into the wall and I can rearrange the shelves as much as I want. I was nervous to see how sturdy the system would be not anchored to the wall and I have been pleasantly surprised -- the system is just as sturdy as if it were a wall-hang system. The folks designing elfa really know their stuff. My advice: There are cheaper storage systems available, but I haven't found anything that compares in quality and durability to elfa. If you want something strong, sturdy and that lasts, efla is best! April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect solution for our angled closet The back wall of our closet is angled and we couldn't figure out how to organize it until they showed us the free standing unit at the Container Store. It was exactly what we needed and it works out great. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST Needed extra storage in a large walk-in. Set up ELFA freestanding with no tools and was sturdy and perfect. We moved and easily took it with us, and now it is standing in the middle of our new walk-in closet. Would buy more without hesitation. March 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elfa is the *best* - 9 years, 3 homes! love it! Elfa is the most flexible amazing closet system - especially for someone who likes to be able to rearrange from time to time based on seasons... or purchases :-) you truly can make it look nice with the wood finishings ... March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing product! im using this on a very unleveled floor and its so sturdy March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Engineering confidence! Okay, I LOVE my traditional Elfa, but I had to review the free-standing pieces that I purchased, because they're AMAZING! I'm not good at math and have no knowledge of engineering. The folks who do have the brains for it make me very happy when they created the free-standing Elfa that helped me transition the world's smallest bedroom into a fabulous walk in closet! I moved from Dallas to NYC and have 1/3 of the amount of space that I had before. The set up that they laid out for me and the sturdy legs gave me every confidence that I could load the double sided and the wall units to the max! For once, I splurged on all the walnut fascias, and everything look so very nice because of it. Another WIN for Container Store. I will never stop talking up this stuff, because it's MAGIC! March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good looking storage I used these in my dining room to add open shelving, in platinum and driftwood. It looks wonderful, was very easy to set up, and has been super sturdy. February 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! Great way to keep walls undamaged! Bought these a five years ago and they have moved all over the country with me and done amazing. Always fairly easy to put together and remains sturdy as they age. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding solution of wonder These long feet are very stable, after adding the first set of shelves, a few twists of the included wrench to ensure you are level and you are ready to finish setting up your shelving system. Have also done freestanding dual sided shelve solution using these feet and find it to be extremely stable, no rocking or sway although I did plan so heaviest was on the base and lighter items as we went up. I was also careful to plan that weight was distributed evenly as possible on both side. I don't know if that was necessary, but I figured it was just a smart plan to have. Must buy are the shelf back bars, otherwise smaller items easily fall off the back or between the shelves of a dual sided set up. Super system, so glad I converted to freestanding. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great to start a Media Center Easy to use with the rest of the Elfa freestand components. I like that I can add onto at all time and there are no holes in the wall. Handles all the weight great! February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent solution In a rental situation or where do not want to drill holes in the walls these are an excellent solution April 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE My elfa free standing I love my freestanding elfa system, I am an artist and a student which requires me to be organized in a tiny apartment with a lot of art supplies and materials. As soon as i was able to i started saving and invested in my organization and it's changed my life. This product is sturdy and easy to assemble. In a few short hours i had all my art supplies organized where I can see them and up off the floor where they had been previously, which gave me room to move, think and create! I love what i have so far and I intend to keep buying parts and expand as i can afford it ^__^ April 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great feet These feet provide a sturdy platform for the elfa freestanding units. February 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love everything except the shelf clips We have traditional Elfa hanging shelves everywhere - closets, garage, workshop, laundry room. We were delighted when free- standing came out as it allowed us to fill a need in our basement. The one flaw was the plastic clips used to hold a shelf to the feet; any time we would go to slide something onto the shelf, the clips would pop off. We just decided to add to our basement shelving and thought Elfa would surely have come up with a better way of attaching the bottom shelf to the feet in the intervening years. Unfortunately, they are still using the flimsy plastic clips that don't stay put. Please work on a better solution - these clips really detract from the overall quality of the product and aren't worthy of the Elfa name! January 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I just designed, ordered and installed an awesome Elfa Freestanding shelf system for storing my tools and hardware items. I love it! It is sturdy and easy to assemble. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The free standing elfa shelving was a breeze to put together. It makes for great storage space and you don't have to put holes in the wall to anchor it! Since it comes in many sizes it will fit pretty much any place you need extra storage shelves. February 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent option The freestanding elfa shelving is perfect for an area in my house where I can't hang shelving on the wall. It is stylish but streamlined. Best of all, it will be very easy to take with me whenever I move from the house. February 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I needed So easy to put together yourself, it's a little tricky if you don't have a second person to help, but it can still be done. A great option if you want to switch around the set up later on, or if you aren't quite sure what all you want at the begining and want to add more components later. January 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wise Purchase I bought the wall system, then decided I wanted the free standing unit for the basement. The feet are sturdy and wide enough to provide enough support. May 18, 2010
  • 2016-05-27 T05:44:45.576-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_10021234, prod, sort_default
2 next»