< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Platinum elfa freestanding Feet

Overall Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Platinum elfa freestanding Feet

Platinum elfa freestanding Feet

Overall Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Platinum elfa freestanding Feet

Most helpful top-rated review

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Pleasantly surprised
5 out of 5

I have been an elfa fan since I installed my first closet system, but when I moved into an apartment and was looking for a convertible media unit, I thought I might be able to make the elfa system fit this need as well. It was perfect -- I didn't have to drill into the wall and I can rearrange the shelves as much as I want. I was nervous to see...

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love everything except the shelf clips
3 out of 5

We have traditional Elfa hanging shelves everywhere - closets, garage, workshop, laundry room. We were delighted when free- standing came out as it allowed us to fill a need in our basement. The one flaw was the plastic clips used to hold a shelf to the feet; any time we would go to slide something onto the shelf, the clips would pop off. We just...

Read the full review >
Platinum elfa freestanding Feet 4.7 5 22 22
Additional add on We bought this item in order to split our 10' unit into two units . We love the Elfa system it is so easy to assemble every piece fits precisely a very well made product! February 21, 2014
Love the Elfa Free Standing option I just purchased two free standing sets at the store. The design consultant was very helpful and knew exactly what I needed. I bought a 3ft wide free standing with 8 shelves to hold my shoes (each 12" deep shelf held 5 pairs, and a 16" deep shelf on the bottom held 8 pairs of boots); a 2 ft wide free standing with baskets held my boys' balls and equipment. Love these! They're sturdy, and I love being able to adjust the shelves to fit my needs. Can't wait to start working on my closet! April 7, 2013
Pleasantly surprised I have been an elfa fan since I installed my first closet system, but when I moved into an apartment and was looking for a convertible media unit, I thought I might be able to make the elfa system fit this need as well. It was perfect -- I didn't have to drill into the wall and I can rearrange the shelves as much as I want. I was nervous to see how sturdy the system would be not anchored to the wall and I have been pleasantly surprised -- the system is just as sturdy as if it were a wall-hang system. The folks designing elfa really know their stuff. My advice: There are cheaper storage systems available, but I haven't found anything that compares in quality and durability to elfa. If you want something strong, sturdy and that lasts, efla is best! April 2, 2013
Perfect solution for our angled closet The back wall of our closet is angled and we couldn't figure out how to organize it until they showed us the free standing unit at the Container Store. It was exactly what we needed and it works out great. March 28, 2013
THE BEST Needed extra storage in a large walk-in. Set up ELFA freestanding with no tools and was sturdy and perfect. We moved and easily took it with us, and now it is standing in the middle of our new walk-in closet. Would buy more without hesitation. March 21, 2013
Elfa is the *best* - 9 years, 3 homes! love it! Elfa is the most flexible amazing closet system - especially for someone who likes to be able to rearrange from time to time based on seasons... or purchases :-) you truly can make it look nice with the wood finishings ... March 20, 2013
amazing product! im using this on a very unleveled floor and its so sturdy March 18, 2013
Engineering confidence! Okay, I LOVE my traditional Elfa, but I had to review the free-standing pieces that I purchased, because they're AMAZING! I'm not good at math and have no knowledge of engineering. The folks who do have the brains for it make me very happy when they created the free-standing Elfa that helped me transition the world's smallest bedroom into a fabulous walk in closet! I moved from Dallas to NYC and have 1/3 of the amount of space that I had before. The set up that they laid out for me and the sturdy legs gave me every confidence that I could load the double sided and the wall units to the max! For once, I splurged on all the walnut fascias, and everything look so very nice because of it. Another WIN for Container Store. I will never stop talking up this stuff, because it's MAGIC! March 15, 2013
Good looking storage I used these in my dining room to add open shelving, in platinum and driftwood. It looks wonderful, was very easy to set up, and has been super sturdy. February 23, 2013
Great product! Great way to keep walls undamaged! Bought these a five years ago and they have moved all over the country with me and done amazing. Always fairly easy to put together and remains sturdy as they age. February 18, 2013
Freestanding solution of wonder These long feet are very stable, after adding the first set of shelves, a few twists of the included wrench to ensure you are level and you are ready to finish setting up your shelving system. Have also done freestanding dual sided shelve solution using these feet and find it to be extremely stable, no rocking or sway although I did plan so heaviest was on the base and lighter items as we went up. I was also careful to plan that weight was distributed evenly as possible on both side. I don't know if that was necessary, but I figured it was just a smart plan to have. Must buy are the shelf back bars, otherwise smaller items easily fall off the back or between the shelves of a dual sided set up. Super system, so glad I converted to freestanding. February 15, 2013
excellent solution In a rental situation or where do not want to drill holes in the walls these are an excellent solution April 27, 2012
Great feet These feet provide a sturdy platform for the elfa freestanding units. February 14, 2012
Love everything except the shelf clips We have traditional Elfa hanging shelves everywhere - closets, garage, workshop, laundry room. We were delighted when free- standing came out as it allowed us to fill a need in our basement. The one flaw was the plastic clips used to hold a shelf to the feet; any time we would go to slide something onto the shelf, the clips would pop off. We just decided to add to our basement shelving and thought Elfa would surely have come up with a better way of attaching the bottom shelf to the feet in the intervening years. Unfortunately, they are still using the flimsy plastic clips that don't stay put. Please work on a better solution - these clips really detract from the overall quality of the product and aren't worthy of the Elfa name! January 21, 2012
Excellent option The freestanding elfa shelving is perfect for an area in my house where I can't hang shelving on the wall. It is stylish but streamlined. Best of all, it will be very easy to take with me whenever I move from the house. February 15, 2011
Exactly what I needed So easy to put together yourself, it's a little tricky if you don't have a second person to help, but it can still be done. A great option if you want to switch around the set up later on, or if you aren't quite sure what all you want at the begining and want to add more components later. January 25, 2011
Wise Purchase I bought the wall system, then decided I wanted the free standing unit for the basement. The feet are sturdy and wide enough to provide enough support. May 18, 2010
Smart purchase Well made, does what it is suppose to do. That may not sound like much but all too often you purchase something that sort of does what it is suppose to do. May 17, 2010
Does exactly what it is advertised to do. I would like to see overall loading specifications. April 29, 2010
If in doubt, free standing! I purchased Elfa ventilated shelving for a walk in closet. The closet has a 24"W free standing unit against the back wall and one 31"W track on the side wall. They work incredibly well together. I chose the freestanding option for heavier items (suits/jeans/tees) because this particular closet is lined with almost century old cedar and I wasn't confident that the wood would withstand the weight. The track on the side wall has lighter items on it (shirts) and is holding up just fine. The dimensions of the freestanding units are a little more confusing than the tracks. I highly recommend speaking with a customer service agent, and going to the store to look at them before purchasing. The customer service agent will help explain the additional space needed for installation. Definitely install this yourself, although it is easier to do it with 2 people, I managed it alone. March 27, 2010
love free standing! i love freestanding and these feet are the pieces that make it happen! however, the feet are a bit large, if you dont have a lot of room that could be a problem March 2, 2010
Excellent Solution These feet and the components that go with them make it very easy to have closet shelving without any drilling into walls. They were easy to assemble and can at some future time be disassembled and used in another location. January 29, 2010
1-22 of 22