< Return to Product Page

Customer Reviews

Walnut elfa décor Shelves

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Walnut Shelves

Walnut elfa décor Shelves

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Walnut Shelves

Most helpful top-rated review

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Stylish yet easy to break
5 out of 5

I like the shelves. They look really great in my room. However, since they are hallow, they are so easy to get damaged comparing to those solid shelves.

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Nice except mounting scheme
3 out of 5

These shelves are very well fabricated and in most respects are very nice. However the mounting scheme is the worst in any Elfa product. The latching scheme consists of about eight tiny plastic thin fitting tabs. Any jar to the shelving result in these tabs lifting off the mounting brackets. It all comes tumbling down. Having had these expensive...

Read the full review >
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but pricey I like that these shelves are attractive and easy to install, and they're pretty light so it makes it even easier to install them yourself. I found that the left side of the shelf was a bit harder to snap into place than the right side, but I'm not sure if that's really the case or just because I'm a righty. If I could change one thing about these shelves it would be their price point. I wish they were more affordable, as doing a whole unit with them gets pricey. March 21, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Times have changed This is my second full wall system and I was disappointed to find that the shelves have become slightly cheap. The bracket system on the side is now made of plastic and doesn't snap into the brackets easily or with the satisfactory snap like the old ones. January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light, easy to install, and looks great It took me less than an hour to install the walnut decor shelves, and I couldn't be happier with the purchase. They look great! I worried at first about the cost, but I appreciate that these are lighter and easier to work with than the melamine shelves. And if you plan to move around a lot, investing in a lighter shelving and storage options makes sense! January 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Added more accessories to my closet I love ELFA because is uber easy to build, move and rearrange AND to add on new features. Can't live without it. February 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moving on up! I replaced my microwave cart & moved the microwave up to my new Elfa shelving on the wall. I have a small kitchen with very little counter space & very few cabinets so I purchased these shelves for my cookbooks, canisters, & microwave. I couldn't be happier with it. I have pets & I used to have to move the microwave cart every time I sweep my floor but not anymore! I think I have an Elfa addiction! January 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my new elfa entertainment center! I have limited space in my studio apartment for an entertainment center. The elfa freestanding system is perfect for my needs. The walnut shelves have an expensive look to them. They don't scratch and are very durable. I am extremely happy with my purchase and how the entertainment center turned out! It has given me more storage, I still haven't utilized the top shelf yet. But I will, I'm sure - more room for storage is always a good thing! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Shelves These shelves were incredibly easy to install and they look great. The shelves themselves are thick and sturdy. They have a solid, expensive look. A good upgrade from the standard shelf. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great products, customer service even better!!! I'm always very impressed with the cost benefit of TCS products, but above all, with the friendliness, effectiveness and problem solving skills of THC employees. Congratulations!!! January 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice except mounting scheme These shelves are very well fabricated and in most respects are very nice. However the mounting scheme is the worst in any Elfa product. The latching scheme consists of about eight tiny plastic thin fitting tabs. Any jar to the shelving result in these tabs lifting off the mounting brackets. It all comes tumbling down. Having had these expensive shelves for two years I have finally decided to put on a J channel extrusion to redesign the mounting scheme. I am also making a holddown scheme as this is a major source of the problem. This is tedious and a pain but I am not throwing out $360 worth of shelves. September 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loooooooove elfa decor! I recently moved and took my elfa with me (yay!). The elfa I previously used in my office now makes up my laundry room! The 20" decor shelves make a great laundry folding table!!! April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Shelving! I bought a custom designed shelf and drawer unit using this line. They are simply beautiful. The shelves are made of fine hardwood with a tasteful finish and the drawers glide smoothly. If you're wanting a smart look yet practical storage unit, you will love these. By the way, it was pleasure to work with the Container Store. Their designers helped me achieve the best design for my space. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice I purchased this item to use as a desktop. The dark wood color is a beautiful contrast with the elfa Platinum shelving. March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walnut and Platinum... Today's contemporary look. The Decor Shelf is essential to my Elfa system. Its wooden appeal and walnut color bring elegance and style to my dresser unit. Its large size creates a wide and deep space to hold more than you think it can. Once set properly on the shelf bracket, it holds a good deal of weight too. March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful and functional I love my Elfa wall shelving! I was finally able to unpack all of my books (with room to spare for future growth). I had it installed due to the length (9') and with the sale price. The installer was quick (couple of hours) and cleaned up after himself. The only negative is I would recommend a 12" shelf max above a desk rather than the 16" (for head clearance). I would also love to see some kind of lighting system designed to go with this. I jerry rigged an LED tape light around the back of the pin board. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Beverage Center We made a beverage center in our formal dining room that we wouldn't use if it wasn't for Elfa. We have plans to use the same material on the other wall which is 16' We had Elfa install and it took no time at all and LOOKS GREAT! February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love this closet! To outfit our 8ft closet with the elfa system was our best decision, we love it in all aspects. April 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Shelving System I used the freestanding Elfa system to build an entertainment center, bookcase, and printer storage. To cut costs, I used the regular shelves for the bulk of the project. I'd love to swap them out for these decor shelves over time, though, because the decor shelves are just so much nicer looking overall. I assembled the entire system in less than an hour by myself. I especially like the 83" brackets. I live in a small space with high ceilings, so utilizing vertical space is a must. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, Functional and Space Saving I recently purchased the decor shelves and desktop to build a desk set up in my home office. I was able to reuse some leftover standards and shelf brackets from another project and integrate the desk shelves with some existing bookshelves and a filing cabinet. The end result was spectacular! I have so much room to store office things. I love the versatility of Elfa and the ease to assemble something so polished looking, February 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy teens Part of the closet my my daughter. She loves it.... March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Infant Organization Bought two of these for my some room, super easy to install and does what it needs to do. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elfa Saves Son's College Apartment We used the Elfa shelf solution in our son's college apartment to create bookshelves above his teeny tiny desk. What a difference it made! The installation was easy and the finished result looks great. I highly recommend elfa! January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finally getting organized Very easy to install Looks fantastic! Shelves seem sturdy Drawer slides are easy to install and operate well If you were not happy with the design, you would be able to change it easily. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elfa Decor Shelving My husband and I possess a lot of books, magazines, journals, and maps. At our last home, we had bookcases built, but when we moved, we couldn't take the shelves with us. Having used Elfa in my laundry and a pool closet, I knew I didn't want the wire mesh shelves, so I kept waiting and waiting. Voila! Elfa came out with the Decor shelves, and that is perfect for transforming a room into an office! We purchased the 16" w x 17"d x 1.25"h shelving. Our feature wall has 82"w x 97"h of working space. My husband desperately needed filing storage to accommodate legal size file folders and accordion folders, so I bought three 7-tier Drawer systems, put them on casters, turned them sideways, and built the bookcases around the filing systems. The depth of the shelves and the sideways depth of the filing drawers compliment one another perfectly! I bought 12 shelves, but after building the shelving from the bottom up, I should have purchased 15 shelves. (I will be adding another row!) I have the space I thought I might have at the far right, and I will be putting two stacked Narrow Cabinet Bath Drawers there. The customer service was excellent! Mary Beth and her team worked really hard to work with such an odd space. This is my fourth Elfa shelving system, and I will continue to purchase The Container Store products because of their design ingenuity and superior customer service. January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best shelves When I shopped for these shelves, I knew I liked them. Once they were installed, I loved them. They are simple, unobtrusive and very well-made. And easy to adjust, move, reconfigure. I couldn't be happier. The staff at the store were cheerful and very knowledgeable, and the installer was as well. Overall, a great purchase. November 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding elfa Desk I adore elfa designs. The design is beautiful, simple, and elegant. I love sitting at the desk to get my work completed. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Decor in my KITCHEN We remodel our kitchen on a small budget. We wanted an open look, no cabinets. So we thought ....we love our ELFA so why not in the kitchen. It looks beautiful. We get so many wonderful comments on our kitchen. We love our walnut elfa decor shelving. Thank you Container store for helping us think outside the box. April 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Design We have just purchased an LCD tv to hang on our wall and came into the store to get help with designing a tv center to mount under the tv. The design center was awesome, the design fit perfect and looks fabulous in our tv room. elfa shelving systems are SO WORTh the investment! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Stylish and easy to install. Love the fact that the closet can be redesigned easily as time goes. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elfa systems are great quality This is my third Elfa purchase for complete walk-in closet, smaller closet and pantry. Love the systems and the choice of finishes. It is easy to install. Great design service at the store. I have recommended this already several times to friends and clients), I am in real estate. March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful product I ripped out several old, teeny walk-in closets full of horrible wire shelves and installed Elfa closet systems using these shelves as well as matching drawers holders, and trays. It was stunning and I swear the woman who bought the house did so because of these closet systems. She just could not get over how beautiful these shelves were. Plus, she could vacuum the rugs still because everything was off the floor (she said this, when we were closing on the house). A little expensive and added time to do all the extra finishing work (shelve edges, etc), but you end up was a gorgeous system that everyone will admire. February 15, 2013
  • 2016-05-04 T05:33:55.144-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_52, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_10021239, prod, sort_default
2 next»