x
 

White Hat Boxes with String Handles

Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Customer Reviews

White Hat Boxes with String Handles

Most helpful top-rated review

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Great for a project
4 out of 5

I used hot glue on the flaps and decoupaged maps on them and they turned out great! Made it stronger overall. Perfect for what I wanted.

Read the full review >

Most helpful low-rated review

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Not Sturdy for Everyday Use
2 out of 5

Pros: Inexpensive, large enough for wide hats, nice string to pull off of top shelf. Cons: Too flimsy for every day use. Best to put LIGHT things in them for long term storage so as not to have to open and close boxes too often. I only have them stacked to two high. We will see if they stand the test of time.

Read the full review >
White Hat Boxes with String Handles 3.5 5 19 19
Exactly What I Needed This box was the perfect gift box for a Birthday present I purchased. The gift was a handbag which fit perfectly inside. I used the scalloped tissue paper inside as a liner; very pretty. As mentioned in other reviews, this box is flimsy! I would not recommend using it as a storage box since it would not be sturdy enough to have anything stacked on top. May 18, 2014
White Hat Box Prefect size and sturdy. Love it and they stack well April 29, 2014
Great Size, Great Price, Mediocre Quality Great size boxes at a great price. Great for oversized hats and other storage items that need a box this size. The cardboard is not particularly sturdy, and the sides tend to want to fall in after assembly. Would have loved a heavier duty option in this size. March 17, 2014
A box for every shape If you have gifts that don't fit in a standard shirt box, it can be a real challenge to find a box to fit. I measured all my gifts that needed wrapping and then went to Container Store's website and clicked through their incredible box selection to find a box for every odd shaped gift. So easy! Great quality, just what I needed. December 20, 2013
Flimsy, Will Not Stay Open Even with three hats in this box, the folding sides bow inward and push against the hats. It is difficult to remove the lid because the string handle is not long enough. I will need to paste reinforcing materials onto this box to make it perform satisfactorily. Perhaps I will turn it into a decoupage project. October 14, 2013
Good for the price I just needed a box for my hats and they did the trick. They are not fancy and I was not looking for fancy. Remember they are not strong either but will store your hats at a reasonable price October 14, 2013
PLEASE PAY ATTENTION BEFORE BUYING Apparently I looked at the average overall rating, and only read 1 or 2 actual reviews. It turns out most of the 4 and 5-star ratings come from early 2010 [reviews are listed by date, with newest at top]. After that, there may have been a change in the product quality, as you'll see by the abundance of very negative reviews from late 2010 to the present. The number one, and frequent, complaint is that the box is entirely too flimsy. Mine arrived today and I totally agree. It is precisely the strength and thickness of the give-away fold down boxes you get from any mainstream department store, for free! The fold-in corner flaps are even perforated along the crease -- in other words, almost guaranteed to tear with repeated use. That perforated fold also causes the sides to collapse inward when upright: they will not remain open to give the box its intended square shape. Easy to see how the whole box will collapse under any weight, particularly if not evenly distributed over the box-top. But here's the last straw. Unlike the photo, mine came with the holes punched for feeding the tie-string thru the larger BOTTOM container, not thru the lid! And to complete the issue, the provided string is not long enough to even touch, much less tie! In other words totally useless. At $5.99 plus shipping and possibly state tax, it is a huge waste of money. The only redeeming feature is that I might save the thick string [which does have metal covers on the ends, like shoelaces] for my toddler grandchildren to 'sew' with punch cards or large beads. February 1, 2013
Absolutely unremarkable The only thing that makes this box specifically a "hat box" is if you put a hat in it. It's a flimsy, collapsable box that happens to be square. Look for something else. July 11, 2012
It does the job I have a large victorian touring hat that I needed a box for. This certainly is large enough, but it is flimsier than I expected. April 9, 2012
Awesome Purchase I ordered this in the hopes of organizing all of my hats and other awkward items in my closet. I didn't need anything decorative. The square fits much better than the round or oval. I've stacked them to the ceiling and created easy read labels. The closet is fit for a tour now! January 29, 2012
Roomy Hatbox I couldn't find a large hatbox ANYWHERE - even the most diverse websites didn't have one to fit my lovely new Victorian hat. But, when I saw this one, I HAD to have it. Since it's plain, I decorated it with Victorian designs. Now, I have an "original"!!! December 1, 2011
Disappointment I ordered these items which were identified as hat boxes for that purpose. They are nothing more than large gift boxes (which I didn't want or need), with holes and thin roping for a handle. They are flimsy, not sturdy. If it didn't cost to ship them, I would have returned them. If you need gift boxes, they are fine for that, but not for storing. They could have used a thicker cardboard and produced a better product for the price. Should not be advertised as hat boxes. September 3, 2011
Good value for the money While these hat boxes are constructed like large fold-out gift boxes one would get from a good department store, they are an excellent value compared to the other hat boxes I found online which cost $29 and upward. I like these just fine! June 24, 2011
Great for a project I used hot glue on the flaps and decoupaged maps on them and they turned out great! Made it stronger overall. Perfect for what I wanted. June 18, 2011
Not Sturdy for Everyday Use Pros: Inexpensive, large enough for wide hats, nice string to pull off of top shelf. Cons: Too flimsy for every day use. Best to put LIGHT things in them for long term storage so as not to have to open and close boxes too often. I only have them stacked to two high. We will see if they stand the test of time. November 10, 2010
White hat Boxes with string handles Really, I would maybe recommend this to someone. I have hat boxes to keep my many hats in. It is hard to find GOOD hat boxes. These do protect my hats, but they are not sturdy enought. My other hat boxes are round and made of hard pressed paper or paper board. They can be stacked and won't collapse. The boxes I got from you are not sturdy and if I stacked them under my other hat boxes, they would collapse. They would not travel well, and if they got knocked around, I am afraid that my hat inside would get crushed. The problem is, I don't have much choice. i need hat boxes because I can't find the harder ones. So, to protect my hats, I have to buy what I can find. Sorry this review is not as good as it could be if your boxes were sturdier. October 8, 2010
Great Hat Boxes I ordered 20 of these boxes to give as gifts at a recent tea party I hosted where hats were required. The boxes were sturdy enough that I was able to decoupage the lids with an enlarged copy of the invitation and matching wrapping paper. I've now ordered some of the larger ones for my larger hats. June 4, 2010
Great Hat Box Great product, great box. Sturdy enough to stack several boxes on top of each other. May 17, 2010
Love, Love,Love Since I wear so many different kinds of hats, I bought a large and beautiful one while on vacation and the seller was out of hat boxes. The Container store was the only online store that carried a box large enough to keep my darling purchase safe while being stored. March 4, 2010
1-19 of 19


 
©2014 The Container Store® Inc.   All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your acceptance of The Container Store® Website Privacy Rights.
California Transparency in Supply Chains Act